Wednesday, March 31, 2010

Brown Ale Face-Off

A couple of weeks ago I asked the Twitter community if there were any cool people that would like to do a guest review here. You'd be surprised how apparently few cool people there are over there. It's either that or they really don't care too much about this blog.

But a few people stepped up including Tim Noetzel from Pintley. Here is his take on Brown Ales. Let him know what you think!

Brown Ale Face-Off

by Tim Noetzel

I should probably start this guest post with a disclaimer: I have some very smart friends, but almost none of them know anything about beer. I know engineers who can calculate wind farm power outputs on the back side of a beer coaster but can't tell you if they're drinking an ale or a lager. I know brilliant medical students who think all dark beers are bitter. I know future titans of industry who think of basketball players when I say the word "hops." While I love my friends, there's something altogether depressing about having a beer with them. Seriously... total idiots. That said, occasionally their uninformed perspective yields a unique and, dare I say it, interesting perspective on what many avid beer drinkers take for granted.

I was talking to one such friend a few days ago, when he informed me that there was one style of beer he just couldn't stand. "You know," he said, "I really don't like brown ales. What a completely terrible style!" Having never heard anyone rail on brown ales before, I asked him what his hangup was. Strangely enough, he explained that he found brown ales—more often than not considered one of the more complex of English and American styles—altogether too boring. "They seem like they just don't want to commit," he explained, "they're really not that bitter, but they're not all that sweet, either."

When I thought about it, he actually did have a bit of a point. Brown ales are often quite complex, but many of them are so tempered in their complexity that they don't really satisfy the boldness of today's American palate. With that in mind, I thought I'd present a Brown Ale Face-Off. Here are a few brown ales that are anything but boring. All of them pull off "complexity" without shying away from the kinds of exciting flavor experiments that send shier taste buds running home crying to mommy.

Dogfish Head Indian Brown Ale

Dogfish Head's award-winning Indian Brown Ale is popular for a reason. This flavorful, well-hopped beer packs a punch. Dogfish describes their beer as a cross between a Scotch Ale, an IPA, and a Brown Ale, and I'm inclined to agree with them. The beer pours a deep, ruby brown with a strong, foamy head. The beer's aroma is bold and complex; scents of caramelized sugars, chocolate, and a floral hop bouquet mix wonderfully. The taste is similarly exciting. The beer has a smooth mouth feel and daring intricacy. A sweet maltiness forms the backbone of the beer's taste, on which hang notes of herbs, berries, chocolate, and molasses. Very drinkable at 7.2% abv and 50 IBUs, Dogfish's Indian Brown Ale is sure to please both beer enthusiasts and novices alike.

Brooklyn Brown Ale

Brooklyn Brewery's Brown Ale blends six malts to build an adventurous, full-flavored beer. The beer appears earthy-brown with a thin, tan-colored head and minimal lacing. A biscuity, roasted aroma is tempered with hints of caramel sweetness that become much more prevalent with the first sip. Smooth, with a slightly oily mouth feel, the roasted malty flavor gives way to a textured nuttiness and sweeter notes of caramel and hazelnut. Sessionable at 5.5% abv, Brooklyn's Brown Ale is an excellent foray into the world of vibrant brown ales that don't hold punches.

Goose Island Naughty Goose

Goose Island's Naughty Goose is a brown ale with an attitude. The brewer describes their brown ale as "so indulgent, it's naughty," and they're probably right. The beer pours an almost maple brown with a creamy head and even lacing. Hop floral notes and a subtle nuttiness combine in the aroma. A dark, roasted sweetness pervades the taste and combines with hints of hazelnut and vanilla. A subdued hop bitterness balances the sweetness well. At 5.4% abv and 35 IBUs, Naughty Goose is a brilliant example of brown ale done well.

Pretty Things St. Botolph's Town

Pretty Things Beer & Ale Project has some truly exceptional offerings, but one of my favorites is St. Botolph's Town, an English-style brown ale with a Yorkshire malt base. The beer is fermented with both a German ale yeast strain and a Belgian yeast strain, lending it an incredible intricacy. It pours a beautiful dark brown with a strong tan head and good lacing and possesses an excellent toasted aroma. The malt base lends a powerful sweetness, complicated by a subtle smoky character and a nuanced hop presence. St. Botolph's town weighs in modestly at 5.7% abv, but it possesses an exciting complexity rarely found in American-produced English style brown ales.

Tim Noetzel is the co-founder Pintley, an online community that helps consumers drink better beer. Pintley offers personalized beer recommendations, tasting notes and pairings, and a vibrant community.

Tuesday, March 30, 2010

Major Tom's Pomegranate Wheat and Steelhead Porter

Plenty to say as usual. I just don't particularly feel like it. I have a couple of surprise guest treats coming your way soon, so stay tuned! In place of the normal nonsense, here are two reviews. "Those don't go together very well. Couldn't you have picked beers to compare and contrast?!?" Nope!

Tonight I am starting with Major Tom's Pomegranate Wheat brewed by Fort Collins Brewery in Fort Collins, Colorado. The label says this is their "most unique creation". There is a beach scene with a bi-plane flying overhead. This is a wheat ale with pomegranate juice concentrate.

Fruity aroma, I guess those are pomegranates. Wheat too. A very bright, floral aroma. Very wheaty flavors with high carbonation start things out. Mighty prickly! Some citrus and tart pomegranate flavors dart in and out but are not a large factor. This beer is a little sour, too. Strange overall with the aggressive carbonation combined with dominant one-dimensional wheat flavors. The texture was dirty. Just an OK beer.

Tonight I'm also drinking Steelhead Porter brewed by Mad River Brewing Company in Blue Lake, California. This is a Scotch Style Porter. The label has a fish, presumably a Steelhead (but I am not the one to ask), jumping out of a river.

Caramel and butterscotch aroma, like a Werther's candy. Caramel and chocolate and that butterscotch again right up front. Pretty nice flavors to start. Not too sweet though. In the background there is a hint of coffee and smoke, maybe some nuts. Burnt flavors are there but not harsh--rather, this is darn smooth. Low carbonation, medium body, balanced. Nice aftertaste. Best part: the butterscotch flavor; worst part: carbonation was too low. An all-around nice beer to check out if you can.

These really were opposites!

JanSport Classic SuperBreak Backpack

Black & Decker EHC650 2-Speed Food Chopper with 3-Cup Bowl

Mizuno Men's Wave Creation 11 Running Shoe


Monday, March 29, 2010

Southern Tier Porter

I started a little rant over on that Twitter thingy today. Since I have way more than 140 characters here, and plenty of time too, let me explain with a little more detail. If you've never been on Twitter, you might think what I'm about to say is written in Martian. But every Friday, tons of people step out and start this #FF or #FollowFriday spam to unbelievable proportions! You could grow the largest, most fertile garden anywhere with the amount of crap that is put out!

Now don't get me wrong, I certainly like to see my @dailybeerreview come up on people's lists, and I am appreciative that people think enough of me and/or this blog to recommend it. Those are the obvious intentions of  #FF, but the lists and lists, 140 characters at a time, all day and night, IT'S SPAM!

My opinion is that everyone should promote the sites and people they like and find valuable every single day, with or without the #FF, no matter. They should do it the way you see Chris Brogan or Amber Naslund or Lisa Barone do it. One by one, with a thoughtful comment. Those recommendations would be truly valuable. Here is an example of one from Amber: "@justinkownacki is adept at never excepting himself from analysis. Misunderstanding a Blog Post http://bit.ly/bQpwN9". OK. Let me show some of you thicker-skulled readers what I'd like Fridays on Twitter to look like. Here are 5 that I'd send out, for example. Feel free to follow them even though today is only a Monday!

@porkchop78 This chick has such a funny running and beer drinking blog. great stories. we must be long lost twins! #FF

@ed_roberts Not only does he tell me when Total Wine gets new beer, he does beer runs too! #FF

@cookingasshole If you haven't seen this guy cook or drink, you are a loser! Where the hell have you been? #FF

@beerpancakes Beer and Pancakes. Come on! Plus he's a regular at two of my favorite bars! #FF

@mikelovesbeer and @dosbeerigos Two Phillies fans! One for real, one b/c his name is Phil. LOL. Two great local S. FL beer bloggers! #FF

Now a beer!

This evening I am drinking Southern Tier Porter brewed by Southern Tier Brewing Company in Lakewood, New York.  The label is simple with a striking dark purple color. Ironically, the label says "dark" right on it, too. Was I brainwashed?

Caramel, very malty aroma, with perhaps a touch of raisins. The flavors are more on the bitter chocolate level, with plenty of roasted and burnt malty flavors there as well. You will taste some smoky flavors as well. Medium body, low to medium carbonation, on the lightly bitter side yet still balanced. Although the burnt and smoke are a bit of a personal turn-off, it's not a bad offering. Worth checking out.

Trust Agents: Using the Web to Build Influence, Improve Reputation, and Earn Trust -- Chris Brogan

HTC Tattoo Unlocked Android Phone with 3MP Camera, WiFi and GPS--International Version with Warranty (Graphite)

Puppy Tweets Blue

Sunday, March 28, 2010

Old Guardian 2010

My wife has the kids out to see How to Train Your Dragon in 3D this afternoon. It'll be the first movie in a theater for my littlest one, although he is a professional watcher of Cars, Toy Story I and II, and a handful of others here at home. I am sure he's going to love this one! He took the McDonald's dragon toy to the movie with him! Me, I am drinking for you (LOL), paying bills, submitting paperwork (IRS/VPK), and spending money.

Oh, and my boss asked me Friday why I hadn't used the Amazon gift card she gave me for Christmas. Duh, because I never got it. So email resent and it's Christmas in March! Sweet!

This afternoon I'm drinking Old Guardian 2010, a barley wine style ale brewed by Stone Brewing Company in Escondido, California. I could have sworn I had their 2009 version, but I guess not. A year ago I was not a big fan of this style of beer, but have started to enjoy it more lately. That's likely why I never tried Old Guardian 2009. But you know who did? Stone Brewing CEO Greg Koch. And he tells you about drinking a bottle last Halloween on a trip to Mumbai, India. Greg even talks about tweeting using his @StoneGreg Twitter account in his story. Along with over 4000 other people, I follow Greg. One thing I think is pretty funny is his reaction to people calling his brewery "Stone Brewery" instead of "Stone Brewing". It really seems to bother him! Anyway, this is their Limited Early 2010 Release. They also used cadmium in the awesome bottle decorations; however the State of California says they know this causes birth defects or other reproductive harm. You decide if that bothers you. Even the cap gets into the action: 100% natural!

The aroma is really nice. Very hoppy and peppery, nice fruits and plenty of malt as well. Complex, lovely. Flavors start out on the sweet side with plenty of caramel malts, nice and sticky. That initial semi-syrupy consistency is then immediately cut with a strong pine flavor and plenty of hops. There is a nice sharp bitter bite, and that bitterness marries a very spicy black pepper flavor. Yes, they are happily married! The 11.1% alcohol is noticeable but is mostly masked. Nice fruits, booze, and a hint of vanilla weave in and out of the profile as well. The carbonation provides a prickly mouth feel and the body is also medium. Bitter finish with a touch of alcohol lasts a while. Pretty tasty beer, complex. Still not my favorite style, but you should for sure check this guy out! Cheers!

Gourmet Barbecue Trio Gift Set, Stone Brewing Co. , 3 - 14oz Glass Jars

Stone Brewing Company Imperial Pint Glass

Beer Wars ~ Sam Calagione (as himself), Anat Baron (as herself), Rhonda Kallman (as herself)

Saturday, March 27, 2010

Fish Tale Organic India Pale Ale

I celebrated my 500th post yesterday by buying myself a new car today!  Actually, Volkswagen Credit was telling me that I had until April 2 to return it or be in violation of the lease agreement. But I still got a new car, so let me use my imagination a little.

My wife had already practically picked out the Mazda CX-7 as the car we were going to replace the Passat with. So right to the Mazda dealership. As we approached, Jimmy, with the company 27 years and multi-award winner, introduced himself. Very nice guy, made me not want to fight as much as I was prepared to, knocked off a few dollars in the end, shook my hand, filled the tank, cleaned the car, took care of returning the VW, and got the paperwork done. I'm tired of the usual bullshit that goes on in car dealerships, so the less-than-two-hour trip today, which included a test drive, was great. If I will be paying a little more because of that, so be it! I'd have taken a picture of the car for you, but the wife already has it out this afternoon. But you've seen it. BTW, my other care is a Maserati!

This afternoon I'm drinking Fish Tale Organic India Pale Ale brewed by Fish Brewing Company in Olympia, Washington. The label is very busy with orange fish swimming in green plants. Tons of messages too. Organic, duh, certified by the Washington Stated Department of Agriculture. Please Recycle. Keep Refrigerated. Even the cap is decorated and says in microscopic type, "YOU SHOULD'VE TASTED THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY!" Finally, my favorite, "Spawned on Date: December [must be 2009]". Whew, I'm worn out.

Very pleasant and sweet, fruity aroma. Lots of ripe peaches and nectarines along with some honey. The flavors, though are somewhat different. They start out with a big caramel maltiness and some toasted, grainy bread flavors. There is an orange and other fruit presence, but not too prominent. Some hops do show up and give a nice bittering balance. Carbonation is pretty low, almost flat, and I wish that were higher. Medium body. My initial reaction was that this was a bit strange, but I'll tell you what. By the end of the bottle, it had grown on me a bit. Nice beer!

Fishing: B.S. Fish Tales Brad's EChip Wiggler

Ocean Life 18 Piece Playset: Plastic Sea Creature 4 inch Figures with Sharks, Octopus, Turtle, Sting Ray, Whales, Dolphin and More!

StarMark Clicker Dog Training System

Next Day Photo Update: Here is the new Mazda CX-7 from the side and from the front. It's not a very nice day, but the silver color really shines when the sun is out!

Friday, March 26, 2010

Allagash Tripel Reserve

Right now I am typing my 500th post on this blog and you are reading it. Thank you! Thanks also for all the gifts and all of the handwritten congratulatory letters I received. The overwhelming gratification I get from making you all happy gives me complete satisfaction. Except for that one person that unsubscribed today. Too bad, she missed it!

Tonight I'm celebrating with a few beers and a few basketball games. As Michael Scott said about his roast, "I have got to make sure that YouTube comes down to tape this!" So true. I certainly don't want you guys to miss all of the extravagance this festive occasion has in store!
 
The beer I picked to celebrate with is a wine-sized bottle of Allagash Tripel Reserve brewed by Allagash Brewing in Portland, Maine.  I've seen this beer plenty of times at my local Total Wine but never picked it up. That was until it was recommended to me by someone in Portland. Actually, it was Cooking Asshole and he lives in the other Portland, but close enough! Looks like he was a little more responsible drinking a 12 ounce bottle too, but such is life. Mine is from Batch #146. I'm not really sure when that corresponds with, but the bottle says I can age this so I'm sure it's OK. The label also says this is "perfect as an apertif or to toast a special occasion" which is exactly what I'm doing. Toasting myself with 750 mL! Cheers!

Fruity apple and spicy to start with some lemon and yeast for an aroma. A LOT of yeast flavors start things out. There are also plenty of fruity apple and pear flavors along with some sweet honey. You will not miss the black peppery kick that makes sure to introduce itself! A touch of banana is also hanging out over in the corner. A little syrupy feel and consistency. Also noticeable, a warming 9% alcohol which provides a mild burn, and let me tell you that this component keeps on giving, the warming sensation. Medium to upper level carbonation makes all the flavors even more powerful yet provides a smooth and creamy texture. The aroma and flavors are both better as the beer warms up a little bit, so I'd recommend that before even getting started. I like this beer a lot and would suggest you check it out!

Allagash Brewing 40 cl 13.5 oz. Beer Glasses, Set of 2

500 Low-Carb Recipes: 500 Recipes from Snacks to Dessert, That the Whole Family Will Love

L.L.Bean Allagash Waxed Bison Oxford Men's

Thursday, March 25, 2010

Samuel Adams Summer Ale

I hope that you didn't miss today's Guest Reviewer Brewkkake and his review of Victory Brewing's Old Horizontal. If you haven't left a comment, now would be an appropriate time! It was a relief not to have to do a review, but I still did one anyway.

Tonight I'm drinking Samuel Adams Summer Ale brewed by The Boston Beer Company in Boston, Massachusetts or Cincinnati, Ohio or Breinigsville, Pennsylvania. When I got there I tried to play a game with them as I have with others. Apparently, they don't like me toying with fake birth dates like 2/31/1971:

"We take seriously our responsibility to limit website access to adults of legal drinking age."

Anyway, I searched up and down on my blog because I find it unbelievable that I have never reviewed this beer before despite many encounters. I bought it today even though it's for summer because I am in Florida and when it hits 85 degrees, it's officially time to drink like it is. Drink by August, 2010.

Lemon and wheat aroma, nothing amazing but it is welcoming. Lots of wheat and citrus right away, mainly orange and lemon. There is also a bread and grainy flavor and texture to this beer. A nice crisp little zing comes through as well. The finish is slightly drier with a dirty aftertaste. Not overly complicated, refreshing, just as advertised. Not my favorite Sam Adams but it is a solid beer!

SAMUEL ADAMS BEER 19 X 14 WOODEN SIGN

Beer Wars -- Sam Calagione (as himself), Anat Baron (as herself), Rhonda Kallman (as herself)

Samuel Adams: Father of the American Revolution

Victory Old Horizontal Barleywine-Style Ale

Today I have a South Florida treat for everyone. No, I'm not going to be telling you another story today. Wow, I never really knew how needy you all are! Instead, I have a guest reviewer. Brewkkake lives somewhere up near Boca, which for me may as well be Disney. Needless to say, we haven't actually ever met in person. We do, however, share a few common interests including great beer. There's word on the street that Brewkkake will be starting a beer blog soon so keep your eyes open for that as well. Until then...


Victory Old Horizontal Barleywine-Style Ale
12 oz bottle, 11% ABV

After having child #2 with unemployed wife #1, I'm currently unable to splurge on so many new and exciting brews like my fellow beer-blogging colleagues and hardcore beer geeks. My fridge is full of bottles I've been sitting on for a while, so for this review I picked a beer that I could have postponed reviewing for almost half a decade, as indicated by the "Enjoy by Nov 6 2014" marking on the label. Also, I've been hesitant to crack open some of my Victory stuff because some of the ones I've already tasted have been a little...meh.

The bottle says I can enjoy it anytime between now and late 2014, and if I like it I may just buy a bottle to sit on (not literally) for a couple years and see how it matures, assuming the Mayans were poor mathematicians and we actually live to see 2014. It's seasonal, so it might be all gone already, but hopefully I can snag one.

The ale pours a deep caramel with reddish hues, almost like raspberry tea, forming virtually no head and a hair-thin lace around the rim. Upon first glance, you'd think it was like a previously-opened soda bottle on its last leg of carbonation.

Nose - You definitely get a little of the alcohol, but it's complemented nicely by strawberries, Twizzlers and sour laundry that was neglected to be placed in the dryer immediately after washing.

Mouth-feel & taste - Medium carbonation that fizzles like cheap champagne, surprising due to the lack of any foamy head whatsoever, but it feels nice and works well with the sweet berry, cherry and small hint of watermelon with a peppery alcohol finish. The fragrant hops are prevalent and seem to throw a few mild notes of floral candy at you. As I sit and analyze the aftertaste, the 11% alcohol makes its presence known, and starts to heat up a little before quickly fading into the background and your tongue cools off, as if this ale was brewed with a Jolly Rancher-flavored tube of Icy Hot in the mix. It's a pleasant sensation and I wish I'd tried this during the colder nights this past winter.

Overall, it's quite enjoyable and strangely refreshing for a barleywine-style ale with such a high ABV. I'd like to taste it up against Sierra Nevada's excellent Bigfoot barleywine to get a good comparison, and though I like this, something tells me I'll soon forget it. I'll definitely try to get another one or two bottles if possible, and I think this one was a solid B to B+.

Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Espresso Amber Ale

Nice day. I turned in my homework just in time at my son's daycare. Homework, aka April Lunch Menu, is now emailed to me monthly. So when I didn't get it this month and asked for another email Monday, I felt a little like I was asking for a deadline extension. But the front office lady just opened the "bad parent drawer" and handed me a copy that they had printed for just such an occasion.

But today I didn't have the $10 cash in exact change like they try to brainwash us into believing is necessary. Strike two. Trying to joke my way out of it wasn't working either. So I turned the tables on them before I struck out. I said, "You know what? Just keep that $10 change (from my $20), and I will use that to buy raffle tickets for the fundraiser you guys are having now." Instant hero! And I bet I win that 32 inch TV too. Karma!

Tonight I'm drinking Espresso Amber Ale brewed by Peak Organic Brewing Company in Portland, Maine. Obviously this is organic, so we have that part out of the way. There is a quote on the label, presumably from a fan that goes as a caption with the picture, "Celebrating the coffee harvest with farmers in Bolivia." Other bottle adornments: "Locally Roasted", a "Coffee By Design" logo, and a "Fair Trade Certified Coffee" seal. Best Enjoyed Before July, 2010.

Nice coffee aroma with a hint of chocolate, not overpowering but inviting. Rich coffee flavors start things off, with some burnt and roasted bean flavors right on its heels. Just a hint of vanilla in there somewhere, too. This beer starts lightly sweet but evens out by the end. There is a definite hint of smoke and some faint spice. Creamy, medium carbonation is good. Chewy, body is solid but not too thick. By the end, the burnt flavors and a winning bitterness are slightly on the annoying side. However, this is an all-around solid beer with nice flavors, and if you like coffee (or coffee ice cream), you will like this!

The Extraordinary Artisan Handcrafted Organic Coffees of Aloha Island

Aladdin Recycled and Recyclable 16-Ounce Mug, Green

19020/2 - Modern Organics Collection Coffee Beans Wall Sconce SKU# 479811

Tuesday, March 23, 2010

Ginger Twin

I am mentally preparing tonight for a Florida bureaucracy tomorrow. Meditation... Check. Acupuncture... Check. Beer... Check! No, not the DMV. Worse! Tomorrow I go to the West Central Library in Plantation to obtain a certificate of eligibility so that my three year old is able to enter Florida's Voluntary Pre-Kindergarten program in August. I prove my residence with my driver's license and my son's age with a copy of his birth certificate. Sounds simple enough, right?

Well, it's overrun with idiot parents and even idioter people that are there to administer the program. This could be done online in five seconds, but no. When I went four years ago for my other son, I stood in a line around a different library for four hours in a baking mid-afternoon sun. Was terrific! Pray for me.

Tonight I'm drinking Ginger Twin, an India-Style Red Ale brewed by Half Acre Beer Company in Chicago, Illinois. This beautiful 22-ounce bottle came home from my friend's recent Chicago trip. The label has two burly angry-looking red-head-eyebrow-and-full-beard twins on the front. Between them is an eagle with hops and an old ship. Very curious.

Nice aroma with a lot of fruity peach and pear, a little hoppy, sweet and syrupy. Some pine in the background too. Really nice flavors, too. Starting with a lot of pine and pine sap immediately balanced with a solid caramel malty balance. There is definitely a fruity component, but not nearly as powerful as the aroma. Tropical fruits pop out more as the beer warms up and provide a nice tangy flavor. The 6.5% alcohol is slightly noticeable and drying toward the end, and only then is the beer slightly bitter. Pine flavors all the way, for sure. Oily texture with a medium body. Medium carbonation is great, too. Flavorful, crisp, refreshing. This was a great beer!

Fever-Tree Premium Ginger Beer, 6.8 Ounce Bottles (Pack of 24)

Night & Day Furniture Ginger Twin/Full Bunk Bed - FREE FedEx Shipping!

Stash Premium Lemon Ginger Herbal Tea, Caffeine Free, Tea Bags, 20-Count Boxes (Pack of 6)

Monday, March 22, 2010

400 Pound Monkey

This morning I heard no less than four people complain about the rainy weather. However, for me it was perfect. You see, I need to return my leased car to the bank in the next week or so, and today was the scheduled pre-turn-in inspection ordered by its owner. The rain on the dark brown car gave just enough cover to hide some of the minor flaws. You know, though, these guys are experts at finding every tiny scratch or ding, and this one was no different, even as it rained on us. Let's just say I am just glad that four years of normal wear and tear are expected!

This afternoon I am drinking 400 Pound Monkey, an English-style IPA brewed by Left Hand Brewing Company in Longmont, Colorado. What a cool name! And the label that goes with this beer is terrific! So terrific that they list the designer, Moxie Sozo, and the artist, Charles Bloom. This beer was bottled on: SMUDGE, but my best guess is 02 26 10, and the 10 is definite. They need better ink.

Citrus grapefruit and hops aroma, but not very powerful at all. Flavors start out with pine and grapefruit and lemon, but there is no bite or kick. Rather, some malty caramel is pretty dominant and balances things out well. There are some herbal and warming alcohol qualities, too. Smooth, easy drinker, and the carbonation is very fine providing a creamy texture. The finish is dry, with some medicinal flavors, the worst part of the beer. The body was on the light side of medium, a little less than I wanted. In the end, a decent beer you should try if you can.

Monkey Business -- Black Eyed Peas

Original Bobby Jack Stuffed Plush Monkey Buddy Pillow - Affordable Gift For Anyone! Item #Da4L-197011R

Ten Little Monkeys: Jumping on the Bed (Classic Books With Holes)

Click me to see the cool design up close, really close!

Sunday, March 21, 2010

Southampton Publick House India Pale Ale

Now I'm drinking Southampton Publick House India Pale Ale brewed by Southampton Publick House in Southampton, New York. They did bottle it in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, however. The story on the back talks about this being a balanced IPA, somewhere between a West Coast style and European style. The label also pictures the "House That Beer Built".

Fruity and very light aroma. Oh, no. Unpleasantly grainy and earthy flavors start out and dominate here. Bread and toast and tea. Yep, seems like this leans European with their tea. Anyone have any crumpets so I can invite Lennox Lewis over? Lemony citrus dirty bad flavor. Dry band-aid finish. Really something to avoid.

Lennox Lewis Autographed Signed reprint Photo

Aroma AWK-115S Hot H20 X-Press 1-1/2-Liter Cordless Water Kettle

COLONIX FIBER intestinal colon cleanse