Friday, April 30, 2010

Pangaea

I'm already an uncle for a few years now, but I got three text messages simultaneously this morning that almost made me double uncle. Two of the texts were from the middle of the night, so that means that AT&T decided for some reason that they'd protect me from a little beep in the middle of the night. Either they fucked up or have developed a Nanny State to set up curfews on my texts. I hope they aren't doing the same thing to my phone. Trust me, I know how to handle myself if someone texts or God forbid calls at the wrong hour without some serious news. Here's a reminder, if you needed it. But really, what if a relative died or something important (like the birth of a child) happened? Well, I guess I would have found out hours later!

Tonight I'm starting with Pangaea brewed by Dogfish Head Craft Brewery in Milton, Delaware. Pangaea is a flavored malt beverage brewed with crystallized ginger... and this one comes in a wine-sized bottle. This beer is named after the super continent that existed before it started to split a kajillion years ago. Serve cool not cold. Check. "Think globally. Drink globally." No problem. This beer ages with the best of 'em, and it's a good thing because after scouring the bottle for a date, I found a light yellow stamp BOTTLED IN: 2009-2. So this has indeed aged a year and 2 or so months. The label illustration also depicts the one continent of Pangea.

Spicy aroma, mostly ginger, generically fruity as well, and sweet. Lots of ginger flavors up front. They are very much mixed with candy and sugar flavors, very sweet. Fruity orange and pear flavors are also play a big part of the initial experience. Bubble gum, bubble gum in a dish, how many boozin' apricots do you wish to join you in the next phase of this beer. Yep, the measly 7% alcohol is a fruit and flavor antagonizer, not a total asshole, but a bully. Wait. More ginger, but you know what? It is starting to grow on me. I feel like I'm eating a meal that has plenty of ginger in it, not in a bad way, but there is no food here. Good carbonation, medium body, refreshing, smooth, complex, very interesting as usual with these guys. By the end I've had enough of the sweet candy-on-a-stick and ginger, too, but this was a pretty good beer. Try it no doubt!

Zevia Natural Diet Soda, Ginger Root Beer, 12-Ounce Cans (Pack of 24)

1998 Ginger Spice "Spice Girls" Playboy magazine

Pangaea 7 Bottle Circular Wine Cage BT-W060-K

Thursday, April 29, 2010

Titan IPA

Three year old swimming class day 3 tonight. The first two days were really quite nice. I couldn't believe that the instructor got six kids that age to pay attention and do all ten tasks. My son did some things he's never done at home. Isn't peer pressure awesome! Next thing you know he'll be drinking beer or something. If you'd like to see a better recount of day 1, check out my other blog about the City of Miramar. I'm taking a camera tonight and will add some pictures over there later.

Tonight I'm drinking Titan IPA brewed by Great Divide Brewing Company in Denver, Colorado. Here is my original March, 2009 review. The label says this beer is "brewed for hop disciples". "ASSERTIVE" and "AROMATIC" also appear in a few places. There are three medals listed that this beer won, and they suggest pairing this beer with: grilled halibut, Thai curry, and strong/soft cow's milk cheeses. Bottled December 09, 2009.

Hoppy, citrus fruity aroma with a little malt and spice in the background. Lots of pine flavors, a big tree's worth, to start. Light citrus is right next to the pine. There is a strong malty presence and a spicy peppery kick, too. Titan definitely leans bitter yet is still balanced. Not creamy or smooth; rather, the carbonation is pretty prickly. Very refreshing with a dry finish. Overall, a straightforward beer with great flavors. Nicely done! You should definitely try this beer and compare it against any of your other favorite IPA's.

Avatar (Two-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo) [Blu-ray]

It's Complicated by Meryl Streep -- Video on Demand

Jillian Michaels - 30 Day Shred

Wednesday, April 28, 2010

Gubna Imperial IPA

Wasn't sure what to write about tonight until my mother emailed me. My cousin and her husband are appearing on The Newlywed Game on Gameshow Network tonight. Well, first airing was 6pm, and I saw it, and there is a re-run at 9pm (Eastern). See if you can guess which is my cousin. (PS. It's between two of the women because if you think the freak couple is related, you're mistaken.)

My first impressions? I never saw the host before. Chuck and "2 and 2" are no more. None of the questions involve Bob asking about "Whoopie", and almost all of them are sexual in nature, with a few grooming questions in the mix. I mean, I was embarrassed, as was my cousin, when they asked her if her "back door" was open for business or had caution tape, and about her "other bed-time friend". She rightfully pointed out that her mother and my aunt were watching. And thank God our grandma has declined mentally or she'd be rolling in her... umm... bed. In the end, I am not surprised that they won and went to Costa Rica. This chick and my family don't lose!

Tonight I'm drinking Gubna Imperial IPA brewed by Oskar Blues Brewery in Longmont, Colorado. This beer first reminds me of Arnold Schwarzenegger, I am not sure why, just I thought that Gubna might be a good nickname for him. Lots on the rim of the can: "Does Your CANscience Bother You? Tell The Truth! DISESTABLISHMENTARIAN". The back of the can also says "Give the GUBNA a Harrumph. Harrumph." OK, no problem. HARRUMPH! The can is reddish-brown with silver accents. Memorable presentation.

Beautifulicious aroma. Very tropical fruit dominates with a hint of pine too. Absolutely intoxicating. I am not sure what the kids are calling it these days, but I "made out" with this beer's aroma! Fruit flavors, pineapple and melon, start the flavors out, very juicy. Definitely some pine flavors happening here too. Bitter grapefruit and some spiciness provide a decent kick at that point. Bitter, yet still balanced by noticeable malts. The 10% alcohol is mostly hidden, at least initially, but does dry things out a bit as you progress. Sticky, rich consistency and body accompanied by solid medium carbonation are perfect. As the beer warms slightly, the alcohol is a little more noticeable and a little less desirable, but this was an excellent beer.

I'd compare this most to another absolute favorite, February, 2010 top-ranked beer Hopslam Ale. Gubna was on the field with Hopslam, and only a slightly better balance and consistently sweeter honey challenge to the bitter and alcohol were the difference. Gubna is a winner and you should seek it out, if you feel this review justifies a pricey $5-ish single-can price tag.

The Blind Side ~ Sandra Bullock Video on Demand

Brothers ~ Jake Gyllenhaal Video on Demand

The Twilight Saga: New Moon ~ Kristen Stewart Video on Demand

Here are a few chronological pictures. Can, can with glass, glass with can. And of course you didn't miss my opening picture. Take That, Gubna!



Tuesday, April 27, 2010

Liberty Ale

If you pay attention to beer nerd stuff or are a major business news geek, you may have heard that Anchor Brewing was sold yesterday to Griffin Group. It seems the two major players in that group, Keith Greggor and Tony Foglio, already have experience in this industry, as they developed the Skyy Vodka brand.

Read the article. It's good and includes quotes from Fritz Maytag (the guy who sold Anchor) and Ken Grossman, founder of Sierra Nevada Brewing, as well as from the new owners. I suppose that their recent collaboration beer, Fritz and Ken's Imperial Stout (I have the bottle but didn't drink it yet), would have been a better beer to go with this posting, but I can't drink a wine bottle before my son's swimming class!

But tonight, in honor of the brewery, I am drinking Liberty Ale brewed by Anchor Brewing Company in San Francisco, California.  First brewed on April 18, 1975 to commemorate the 200th anniversary of Paul Revere's famous ride. Wow. So 235 years and a week or so! This beer has been a long-time favorite of mine. I did a review back in February, 2009, which you may as well skip as it didn't provide much of a review. Let's see if I can do better this time around. The bottle has a cool shape and depicts an anchor in front of an eagle.

Beautiful aroma--floral with fruity peach and orange. The flavors sport plenty of citrus along with some pine to start. Fruity, floral and hoppy, balanced on the lightly bitter side. Refreshing, crisp and clean. Creamy and smooth, yet the awesome carbonation is still a little prickly. Light alcohol on the back side with a dry finish. Excellent beer, forever!

LIBERTY ALE TALL TAP HANDLE APPROX. 12.50" TALL

Anchor Steam Beer Neon Sign ~ KegWorks

The Art of Distilling Whiskey and Other Spirits: An Enthusiast's Guide to the Artisan Distilling of Potent Potables

Monday, April 26, 2010

Mischief

Today we started the day off with a tornado warning at my house. The sky was black and ominous the entire morning. The only disruption from that was the torrential sideways downpour that lasted a few hours. Oh, and the accompanying surfer waves in the parking lot. Plenty of thunder and lightning, too. Remarkably, we kept the electricity on the whole time. Wicked!

Tonight my three year old was to start swimming classes. Not going to happen; classes were canceled. It's a bit ironic considering how gigantically sunny it is right now. And the City of Miramar should know better, that the weather here will change on a dime, and that they shouldn't have canceled this class at 2pm. OK. There's always tomorrow.

Since I have no swimming class to attend, I am drinking Mischief, a Belgian-Style Hoppy Golden Ale brewed by The Bruery in Placentia, California. Big wine-sized bottle was going to have to wait if I was driving later, but since I'm not, what the hell! Although the presentation is beautiful as usual, the red and purple electric metallic lettering is difficult to read over the brown background. So let me help you decipher what it says. "Not quite evil, yet not to be trusted, this Golden Ale is effervescent, dry, hoppy and crisp--you'll want to keep an eye out." If you tilt the bottle just so, you can see "PERNICIOUS!" which means destructive or detrimental. Hmmm. Serve fresh and at 45 degrees F.

Big fluffy head, 'nuff said. Wow! What an awesome tropical fruity bouquet going on here! Pineapple, mango, papaya and orange. Hoppy too. Really good and powerful flavors start thing out. Similar to the aroma, but not as sweet. Still some pineapple and some apple flavors, but citrus orange and lemon are more prominent now. Definitely some yeasty and bready flavors as well. Hoppy, yet not bitter at all. Rather a good dose of sour is there and never leaves. Just a hint of the 8.5% alcohol is noticeable and warms a little, but this beer is crisp and refreshing all the way. Very easy drinker. You finish with a flavorful sour left on your palate. You should get your ass out there and find this now. My favorite from this brewery so far! Thanks to BFF Ed Roberts, who dropped this off at a Total Wine store that wasn't even his own for me. He's so awesome! You've seen and will continue to see his name.

I must admit that when the bottle was almost gone, as usual, I vigorously dumped the sediment the label warned about for one last taste. Sometimes that yeasty extra is enjoyable. This time I should have listened and avoided the clumps of brownish-green stuff. I just skipped that. Mostly!

Speedo Vanquisher 2.0 Plus Mirrored Goggle

Baby Spring Float Sun Canopy by Swimways

Speedo Aqua Fit Training Swim Gloves

Sunday, April 25, 2010

Shipyard Summer Ale

Remember when George and Jerry couldn't get anything down on paper for their NBC pilot? They had good ideas but let distractions get in their way. I think they got to, "I walk in and say 'Hi'. You say 'Hi' back to me." Well, that's me today, so right to the beer review.

This afternoon is super hot and humid. So I'm drinking Shipyard Summer Ale brewed by Shipyard Brewing Company in Portland, Maine. The label depicts a lobster in a lounge chair drinking a mug of beer on the beach. Best Enjoyed Before September, 2010.

Nice fruity aroma, orange, peach and mango. Fruity flavors to start, too, but a little less tropical. More orange and lemon and citrus, zesty tang flavors everywhere. Lightly bitter. There are some band-aid off flavors as the beer progresses with some metal on the aftertaste. Crisp, good carbonation, body is a little light. Those off flavors do persist, however, killing the experience. Not a happy ending! Try it if you want.

Downeast Lobster Rolls, Six Rolls ~ Hancock Gourmet Lobster Company

Miami Vice: The Complete Series ~ Don Johnson

Grand Theft Auto Vice City

Saturday, April 24, 2010

Chainsaw Ale

Kind of a chill day. My wife took the older kid to the beach with a family friend. I took the younger one on some errands then to the pool for a few hours. I did get up pretty early as I knew I needed to finish my other post before the real day began--surely you've already read the one where I told all of you that Garrett Oliver will be doing an event at my local Total Wine. So I'm talked out, except that I did include a link to the book Garrett is promoting below if you are interested in reading it. If you are going to make the event, take it for an autograph too!

This afternoon I'm drinking Chainsaw Ale brewed by Left Hand Brewing Company in Longmont, Colorado. The label says "DOUBLE SAWTOOTH" as this beer is "a connoisseur version of [their] award-winning Sawtooth Ale, designed to befuddle silly generalizations about life". Hmmm. OK. I've never had Sawtooth, but we'll see! On the label designed by Moxie Sozo with artist Charles Bloom is what appears to be a scary camouflaged woodsman Uni-bomber type. You know, like Jason finally dropped the hockey mask and decided to do his thing incognito. Bottle Conditioned In 29 10. Another hmmm. The two and nine are almost on top of each other so I doubt it's 2 9 10 but maybe. Well at least I am 99.9% sure the 10 is for 2010, so it's new.

Fruity ripe pear and apple aroma with lots of booze. Holy Cow! Very alcoholic and spicy. Thick syrupy fruity alcohol not challenged by anything. Hints of fruits and apple are buried underneath that from start to finish, from cold beer to warm beer (it took me excruciatingly long to drink all 22 ounces). Very weak carbonation, almost flat, made the bad experience worse. Bourbon (almost) shiver. On the lightly bitter side I guess. I forced myself to drink this and didn't like it one bit! Worst $9 I spent all April! Don't buy this or even drink it for free!

The Brewmaster's Table: Discovering the Pleasures of Real Beer with Real Food ~ Garrett Oliver

Rawlings Playmaker Series PL195CB Baseball Glove (9.5-Inch)

Invicta Men's 2772 Force Collection Lefty Terra Military Watch

Brooklyn Brewmaster Garrett Oliver Coming To Total Wine Pembroke Pines

Oh, wow. I've heard from two of my independent sources some news I'm betting you haven't heard before. Yes, I've become a real journalist, and I think I'm breaking a story! If I'm not the first, I'm close.

Any of you readers live within 100 miles of Pembroke Pines? Yes I realize that you can't live in the ocean between Miami and the Bahamas. You ever heard of Garrett Oliver? Of course you have because you are loyal regulars! Take two deep breaths. One...... Two.......

As the Unofficial Non-Foursquare Mayor of Total Wine Pembroke Pines (which means I am a regular), I'd like to announce a spectacular event. You can meet me there any time, please schedule, but the day I'm suggesting you should be there is August 24, 2010. Bring your books and gear to be autographed. Because you are going to do a tasting of Brooklyn Lager, Brooklyn Brown, Local 1, and Local 2 with Brooklyn Brewery's Brewmaster Garrett Oliver! Did you hear me? Garrett Oliver will be here for a very special and rare free public appearance! As the author of "The Brewmaster's Table" and foremost authority on beer and food pairing in the United States, Garrett will also be teaching you what foods will pair best with your sampling.

On top of all that awesomeness, Garrett will also be happy to sign Brooklyn bottles you purchase or copies of his book that you bring in. So what I'm saying is... Dark Lord Day? Pfft. GABF? Whatever! This is a must attend event!

Here are the details:

WhereTotal Wine Pembroke Pines
When:  Tuesday, August 24, 2010 6:30-7:30pm  Update 5/4/2010 The time is updated. You can thank Ed Roberts for that extra half hour when you see him there!
What:  You didn't really ask me that did you?

There is also rumor of a Total Wine Associates-Only opportunity to meet and hear a presentation from Garrett before the public event. This could be a good time to look into employment with them. Personally, I am so super excited and can't wait to tell Garrett how much I love his Brooklyn Black Chocolate Stout and Brooklyner-Schneider Hopfen-Weisse.

Finally, since this is a serious announcement, I'd like to name my two sources and thank them for tipping me off. Thanks to Ed Roberts, Assistant Manager at Total Wine in Fort Lauderdale, and to Rich Nowak, Regional Brand Manager for The Brooklyn Brewery. The two of them worked together to make this event happen so be sure to thank them as well. I guess the event just became officially confirmed too, as they both told me practically simultaneously last night! Super awesome! I'll see you there.

Friday, April 23, 2010

Sierra Nevada Torpedo Extra IPA

My miserable day included two hours at work with my non-working-computer that when it did finally work quadruple downloaded my 300 emails I had received since I left yesterday. Then I spent another two hours helping defend the company in an unemployment benefits dispute appeal hearing over the phone. At which point it was way past lunch time, so I unsatisfied my hunger with a Costco hot dog. But guess what? Those were the rosier moments of my day!

I picked up my three year old from school, only to notice he was wearing different shorts than he went to school in. Yep, he didn't make the toilet! This has been happening lately. He gets super distracted with whatever project or computer thing he's working on, then by the time he realizes he needs to go #2, a little gets in his underwear before he finishes the deed in the toilet. And as upsetting as it is to everyone, the teachers make a giant too much deal of the whole thing. He doesn't want to go to school anymore. That's his new tag line!

My wife called me this morning asking if I took money from her wallet. Since it wasn't me, blame fell on the seven year old. I confronted him the second I picked him up from school. Several blatant lies later, he confessed to taking $3 yesterday and saying he spent it on extra pizza in the after-school sale. I guess I believe that part but am not sure I have the complete truth yet. So the punishment began with a 200-word essay on why he shouldn't go into things that don't belong to him and moreso on why stealing is wrong, etc. My mom made me write an essay when I was his age on "Courtesy and Consideration" after I got one of those "needs improvement" checks on my report card. She has it somewhere.

But wait! It gets way better. There was then a knock at the front door. I thought I was going to have to tell another friend he couldn't come out to play today. Wrong! A neighbor family (mother, father, two girls) was standing there. They asked if I was seven year old's father and I told them yes. Apparently, they caught my son and another boy playing with matches and trying to start a fire yesterday evening. Fuck!!@!!@!! I yelled for him to come downstairs, to listen to their lecture, then mine, then he apologized over tears yet still saying the other boy was doing it more. Did I say FUCK!!!@#@@!?

When I was about his age, my brother and I got caught playing with matches (I could have sworn I shared that story before but couldn't find it). My father took us that night to see one of his severely burned patients in intensive care at the hospital where the patient's body did all the talking (well, she actually lectured us too). To make this even worse, I've had this matches/fire/burn victim serious discussion with this kid many times, including recently when his friend's house's garage around the corner got gutted by a fire just a few weeks ago. I even wrote about it in my other blog. Look at those pictures! Fuck!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

One more thing about all this crap before we get to the beer. I told "matches incident family" to report any of my children's behavior they don't like or is questionable to me immediately. Parents need to step up and discipline this kind of crap. When I was 17 years old in court defending myself against a "passing in a no passing zone" traffic violation, it eventually got dismissed. During the hearing, the State Trooper mentioned that I had also been speeding although he declined to tack on that extra charge. On the way out, the Statey told my dad that if he'd known I was his kid, he'd have let it go. (Doctor Dad knew most of the Stateys, at least by name and face, because he'd met them in terrible emergency room accident or criminal situations). My dad told this dude that next time he stopped one of his kids, that the cop should give the maximum penalty for every offense! How about that for taking some responsibility? Parents today are so irresponsible!

Tonight I am drinking Sierra Nevada Torpedo Extra IPA brewed by Sierra Nevada Brewing Company in Chico, California.  This is the second time I reviewed this beer and was enamored with it the first time a little over a year ago. I've seen it in the grocery store, too, and had it a few times in between just as an everyday beer.

Nice citrus aroma. Big grapefruit bite up front. Lots of pine and sticky flavors complement the bitterness. Despite the big hops, you can taste the malts in the background. No one just dropped a lemon on your tongue or anything like that. There is also a spicy black pepper bite before you finish quite a bit drier, with a slight alcohol aftertaste. Clean, smooth, refreshing. Although I enjoyed this tremendously, I think I liked it better the few times I had it before! Could be my fucking mood though! Drink it if you like big bitter.

Kidde KN-COSM-IB Hardwire Combination Carbon Monoxide and Smoke Alarm with Battery Backup and Voice Warning, Interconnectable

SentrySafe QA0110 Fire-Safe Waterproof CD/DVD Storage File

Swann SW215-DMX Theft Deterrent Imitation Camera

Thursday, April 22, 2010

Jahva Imperial Coffee Stout

I know you're all busy but still enjoy some comic relief, so let me show you a few quick funnies before getting to a big beer review. This picture goes with the beer and theme tonight, but I can't figure out who the photographer is and what website it is posted on. Help, techy geeks! I want to give major funny credit!

First, here is a very funny Amazon review of the Bible. It is very mild PG humor but any "religion is always out of bounds" people, move on.

Next, Julie Blakley lists her ten favorite curse words in French, with great usage guidelines and warnings. There are some dissenters in the comments, and some corrections too, but the hundreds of comments are almost as great as the post.

Finally, a grilling fanatic that will not be denied. For more funny pictures with sarcastic captions, I subscribe to the Oddly Specific blog. I subscribe by email because I enjoy one email every morning with the new funny stuff to start my day!

Tonight I'm drinking Jahva Imperial Coffee Stout brewed by Southern Tier Brewing Company in Lakewood, New York. Big 22 is part of their Black Water Series and should impose "AN EYE-OPENING EXPERIENCE" according to the label. Serve at 48 degrees F.

More chocolate than coffee for an aroma. Did they name this guy correctly? Not overly sweet or powerful, just nice. Flavors also start with big chocolate, and while the coffee is present, it's not the expected coffee-gone-wild experience other beers have provided. Coffee is more an accent to a rich chocolate stout, and I actually am happy about that! Vanilla bean and roasted flavors are nice complements here, too. You will definitely experience the 11% alcohol and its warming bitey powers as you progress through Jahva; the way it accentuates some dark cherry and fruity flavors is really great. A hint of wood? You decide. Medium carbonation, big body which is only lightly thinned by the alcohol toward the end. Bitter tried its damnedest but never overcame the sugary sweetness of this bottle. Overall a nice beer. For some reason I kept thinking this beer should be used in recipes, but that is not for me to experiment with. Try it if you can!

Java Programming for a Beginner, 5-disk DVD Complete Training Suite. Edition 2009

Head First Java, 2nd Edition ~ Kathy Sierra

"Sock Guy" Martini 3" Quarter Socks

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

Buffalo Bill's Orange Blossom Cream Ale

Was screwing around on the inane time-waster called Twitter last night. Let's see. Who did I meet there recently? Last night I met the President of the Earth, who said that he took on the title years ago, but that "[he's] only going to do it long enough to straighten shit out, then [he's] done". Fair enough. I hope he succeeds.


Around the same time, I met Adriana who seemed to be a normal beer-type friend. I think the talk was sports and beer when she said, "I am in a pool bar. Really fun. Come on over!" Having zero intentions of going even if this fun place was in Miramar, I found out she was tweeting from Brasilia. Hahahaahahahaha.


Not yet completely stimulated, I decided to engage some intellectuals. I am still waiting for a response from Michelle Malkin about my absolute favorite tweet from yesterday: @michellemalkin Skip O'Reilly next time and come on over for a beer. Bring Bernie Goldberg and we'll play scrabble!


Then I went to bed.
 
First thing this morning, I met Julie Durda, the extremely cute Channel 7 Weather Anchor. I don't get to watch the weather at noon, but I can stay in touch via Twitter if I want to know the scoop. I guess it was church-quiet this morning when she asked why, and I came to the rescue just in time. Just a simple exchange of hello's. I wonder if she has some anti-hurricane super power. Hmmm.

After all of that, I don't know anyone new. I made a list of Twitter people that I have actually met and the list is really very short. We'll see who is next. I do know that lots of people have made great friends because of this tool, which is why I keep hanging on. Oh, and to let some of you know when I write a new story about Twitter friends (with a beer review, of course).

Tonight I'm drinking Buffalo Bill's Orange Blossom Cream Ale brewed by Pyramid Brewing Company in Seattle, Washington or Portland, Oregon or Berkeley, California for Buffalo Bill's Brewery in Hayward, California. The label is nice depicting an orange and orange blossoms.

Really grainy aroma with just a hint of orange citrus. Also a strange manufactured plastic smell. The flavors start out more orange-ish, like orange drink tart and tangy fake flavor. Too sweet, not pleasant at all. Herbal, grassy, grainy. Carbonation is medium plus and body is medium minus, both are fine, but I really don't like this very much. The orange is there and while it's clearly orange, it doesn't taste like orange. Do you understand? I thought so. And dudes, I live in Florida, and as much as I hate it here, I have me some orange perspective! I wouldn't if I were you. Sorry, I'd rather drink a Miller Lite.

The Naked Bee Orange Blossom Honey Moisturizing Hand & Body Lotion 237ml/8oz

Meyer Lemon Tree One Gallon by Monrovia Growers

Klean Kanteen Stainless Steel Colored Water Bottles

Tuesday, April 20, 2010

Stone IPA

Checking in on Google Webmaster Tools is hilarious sometimes. For the last month, it shocked me that "fat pu**y" and "britney spears pu**y" were the top two search queries for my site, at least for impressions. And the one with Britney's name in it was third overall for clickthroughs. Amazing! (BTW, I only starred out pu**y because I am already getting quite a bit of that quality traffic based on that word.)

Digging a little deeper, I see that all of those pervert Spears Hoo-Hoo searchers were finding one of my high-quality postings, the one where I questioned why anyone would listen to the ridiculous antics of celebrities and rock stars. I hope they got what they were looking for. Not surprisingly, there were tons of other similar search terms, too. Very funny!

I was actually writing that post over a beer that Stone Brewing calls the identical twin of the Stone IPA I'll be drinking tonight. I am of course referring to Stone Cali Belgie IPA. Go check out that post. I laughed out loud to myself. Tell me if you did, too. Also tell me if you didn't! Coincidentally, I saw the Cali Belgie back on the shelves at Total Wine today. And you should for sure try that beer--spectacular!

Tonight I'm drinking me a bottle of Stone IPA brewed by Stone Brewing Company in Escondido, California.  I originally reviewed this beer back in February of last year. Wasn't much of a review, so let me try to do better today. "Stone IPA" is painted on the front and back of the bottle. On the front of the label is a gargoyle and on the back is the definition of a gargoyle. Also on the back, Stone modestly calls this a "gem of an IPA". Enjoy by 04.22.10. Whew!

Hoppy, pine aroma, very nice. There is a terrific grapefruit flavor to start, accompanied by lemon and other citrus flavors. Also a very strong pine flavor with some herbal qualities in the background. The bitter bite is great, refreshing, cleansing. Flavorful, for sure on the bitter side but not overly so. Not super complex, yet an awesome beer. Moderate carbonation and a medium body. You finish with some stickiness in your mouth! Yeah, I said it. Wonderfully drinkable!

Britney Spears: The Singles Collection

Who Is The Biggest Pervert ~ Kheper Games

Fantasy Britney Spears Tester Eau De Parfum Spray Women 3.3 fl. oz. By Britney Spears

Monday, April 19, 2010

Saranac High Peaks Series Imperial IPA

Over the past year and a half or so, I have only repeated beers a handful of times. Sometimes the recipe changed from year to year; sometimes I just wanted to do a re-evaluation; and sometimes because I loved the beer so much, I created a second entry in my Good Stuff Series you can find in the sidebar. But it's a little bit of a shame to not return to the good ones considering how many terrific beers I've gone through!

I do have a handful of beers at home that I've never had before, both 12's and 22's, maybe 15 or so, but I am not one of those "it must be a different beer for every review" guys. So last Friday I picked out 8 or 10 beers that I've reviewed before and remember them being great. All of them are IPA's or Pale Ales, at least this time around, and most I haven't tried since I first reviewed them. Let's see how opinions and experiences change, if at all.

Let's start with Saranac High Peaks Series Imperial IPA brewed by Matt Brewing Company in Utica, New York. My original review of this beer was last May while I was pondering the difference between slam dancing and moshing. The High Peaks Series, which this is the first of, was inspired by Mt. Marcy, Skylight and Algonquin, which are apparently high peaks in the Adirondack Mountains. This beer was made with ten malts and ten hops. The label is an Adirondack map--very bland for a series the brewery would like us to remember!

Fruity aroma with both soft, sweet pineapple and more intense orange citrus. Quite lovely! Nice sharp bitterness starts out the flavors, very peppery. There is, however, a large balancing caramel flavor that works really well. Oily and chewy in the mouth with good carbonation. The 8.5% alcohol also stands up as you progress. Definitely less fruity than I was expecting or desiring, and the spicy pepper and bitterness remains in force throughout. I don't mean to sound ungrateful there as I enjoy that bite as much as the next guy, just stating facts here. You will finish with a dry bitter alcohol aftertaste and a little bit of medicinal flavors. I do wish it was a little more refreshing, a little more fruity and slightly less peppery. But not a bad beer. I liked it!

Western Red Cedar - Adirondack Chair

Hand-crafted "Love Shack" Sign Plaque with a Red Heart in Center (Made of Wood) 18"

Blueridge BR-40AS Contemporary Solid Adirondack Dreadnaught Guitar