Monday, May 31, 2010

St. Vincent's Dubbel

I had a guest review posted at Laurie Delk's 100beers30days.com blog a little while ago. She's in the middle of a Belgian and Belgian-Style beer challenge, so it's an honor to be a part of that. Go check out some of the beer she's had the chance to review over the past month. You'll be impressed!

Even moreso, you'll see what a wonderful person Laurie is with what she's doing. Everything she does revolves around raising money for charity. Make sure you take a look at some of the events she's been involved with, and give if you can. On a side note, I'm trying to get her to send me an autographed poster from her Pints for Parkinson's event. Go and help me put some pressure on her for that. LOL.

Sofie 2010

Before anything else, Happy Memorial Day! I hope you'll take some time today to remember those that gave their lives for our freedom. Take a moment to also think about the families of those killed while serving, and help them out in any way you can. Finally, say thank you to all the soldiers you know that are still defending us right now! Thank you from me!

So the Flyers play again tonight. You want to know how I mentally prepare for the Flyers v. Blackhawks Stanley Cup Game Two later? I take it right to those Chicago bitches and drink their beer! Who said beer planning isn't important?

That's why this afternoon I'm drinking Sofie 2010 brewed by Goose Island Beer Company in Chicago, Illinois. A few months back, my coworker brought back Matilda from a Chicago business trip and it was a spectacular beer. Well, Sofie came back with the same friend from a Washington, DC business trip just a few weeks ago. Again, many, many thanks!

Beautiful, elegant label, with sophisticated lettering. And the green and gold on a mostly eggshell background was also a nice presentation. This is a Belgian Style Ale containing a blend of 80% ale and 20% ale aged in wine barrels with orange peel. Mine was bottled on 01/29/10 (1056, whatever that means), so I didn't quite make it to the five-year limit the bottle suggests this beer may develop.

Big bubbly head. Lemon, orange and wheat aroma, slightly tropical. Citrus lemon and orange start things off with a beautiful and flavorful tartness. A little apricot is also in the background with distinct wheat flavors overtaking it. Luxurious! You will not miss the wine flavors that are present here, and I know that wine drinkers would adore this beer. As the beer progresses, there is a spicy character that builds. You finish with more fruity wheat flavors left behind on your palate. Smooth and creamy with very fine, awesome, upper-level carbonation. Absolutely refreshing! This is a superb beer!

If from the pictures you thought that I enjoyed this beer out in my back yard, well, sorry. We do have Palm Trees and I guess they like the heat, but for me, it's too fucking hot in Florida, like 90-something, and I hate it here. Those pictures are pretty good though, aren't they? I guess I just need "flashless" environments (amongst a few other things).

Anyway, if the Blackhawks play like Goose Island brewed this beer, it's gonna be one hell of a battle tonight!

U.S. Nylon US Flag 3X5 ft - American Made - Embroidered Stars - SALE!

Remembrance: A Musical Tribute to America's Veterans

Victorinox Swiss Army Classic SD Pocket Knife (American Flag)

Pretty cool what the glass did to the hedge in the background. But even cooler what I did to the beer!

Sunday, May 30, 2010

The Maharaja Imperial India Pale Ale 2010

Roy Halladay perfect game? Check! Fireworks after the game? Check! Salsa concert on the way out? Check! Was a pretty awesome day, except for the part where I got home in time to see the Flyers fuck it up and lose 6-5 in Game One of the Stanley Cup finals. Seriously, was either team playing defense? Sloppy.

But yesterday was a fun time, including the hour or so "tailgating" with myself and two boys. We threw the football and tennis ball around while I had a few Sammys. Old dude next to me was happy when I got there, but rolled his eyes when I put on my Phils cap. Last time I took these two, we left in the third inning; but we stayed for the duration this time. They were troopers in a 1-0 game that was "action-less" to anyone but a true baseball fan (remember the Phils didn't even score an earned run!). They will tell their kids, though, that they saw only the 20th Perfect Game in over 100 years of pro baseball!

In celebration, I pulled out The Maharaja Imperial India Pale Ale 2010 brewed by Avery Brewing Company in Boulder, Colorado. I pretty much already know that this is going to be a spectaculiferous beer, and also that it's best fresh (if you like the intended bitterness). What I mean is that I had 2009 Maharaja before, but I also had the opportunity to sample a completely mellow 2007 Maharaja (see #12) three years after bottling. Both delicious, but I love me some bite! The label says 102 IBUs which pretty much means beware and be ready. Bottled March 2010 Batch 11. And I'm pretty sure I've captured the bottle story above in my photo.

I didn't serve this too cold, definitely key. I actually only put it in the fridge this morning (it was 7 am, but don't judge my early Sunday rising). Holy Moly! Fruity pineapple and peach nectar aroma with a touch of pine tree in the distance. Fruity sweet flavors start things off, very tropical, with a hint of honey and perhaps some caramel, too. That's before a rush of burning and biting hops overwhelm those fruits. But you know what? As aggressive as that tangy bitterness was, it never crossed past the balanced line to assholeness. Now I'm not suggesting this wasn't bitter with a gigantic kick, just that enough sweet balance was there for total enjoyability.

Spicy black pepper then comes in about that time you realize that undetectable 10.41% alcohol is warming you up. Yes, I know I said "realize" and "undetectable" in the same sentence, seemingly contradicting myself. That's just part of the joy of me! Pine flavors and oily texture; yes a medium, chewy body. And the carbonation, as fine and creamy as the bubbles were, well, was still prickly in my mouth. This is an A++ beer and you should seek it out. The best that Avery has to offer, hands down!

Roy Halladay Jersey: Adult 2010 Majestic Home White Replica #34 Philadelphia Phillies Jersey

Tailgating ~ BRAVO -- #177 Video on Demand

Philadelphia Phillies Roy Halladay Majestic Granite Name and Number T-ShirtX-Large

Saturday, May 29, 2010

Hell or High Watermelon Wheat Beer

My wife went to pick up a friend at the airport at 9:30 last night. They were planning on going out for a drink before coming home. So it was surprising to see them finally sneaking upstairs at 5:15 this morning. Yeah, yeah. "We were talking and lost track of time." So they slept in and are now headed to the beach while my kids and I are mentally preparing ourselves for Phillies and Roy Halladay domination over the Marlins tonight. Last time I took these two to a game, we left in the third inning after 894 bathroom trips. Tonight there are also fireworks for anyone who lasts to the end of the game. And a concert, too, but I'm pretty sure Luis Enrique and Jerry Rivera are not on our agenda!

This afternoon I'm drinking Hell or High Watermelon Wheat Beer brewed by 21ST Amendment Brewery in Cold Spring, Minnesota. The can says that I should agitate it before opening it because there is yeast inside, so I just put the can by the TV while Nancy Grace was speaking! Yes, she even has that effect on inanimate objects!

Wheat and generic citrus aroma, fruity but not too powerful. Bread and wheat flavors kick things off, with some melon flavors complimenting them. It's not really watermelon, though. It is more of a manufactured sweet fruit mixed with the rind type of melon flavor. A little spice shows up as the beer progresses, and some off metal flavors too. Decent carbonation, a bit thin, refreshing. This was just OK. I am actually more excited to see how this beer's clone by Phil from DosBeerigos turns out. It was a flat and non-alcoholic beer last week, but the flavors were solid! Check out #4 for a refresher.

Jolly Rancher Watermelon-160 Piece Box

RARE Hokkaido Black Watermelon 10 Seed-$6,100 per Fruit

L'Oreal Colour Juice Stick Sheer Juicy Lip Gloss ~ Watermelon Ice 215 ~ .5 Fl. Oz. (15 mL)


Let me show you Agitation!

Friday, May 28, 2010

Wilco Tango Foxtrot Ale

Tonight I'm getting started with Wilco Tango Foxtrot Ale brewed by Lagunitas Brewing Company in Petaluma, California. Wow, there is a lot happening on the label. This is "A Malty, Robust, Jobless Recovery Ale" and "not quite in the Red, or in the Black... Does that mean [they're] in the Brown?!" In about 6 pt. font size there is a really long story. I took a picture--hoping it's clear! (Look above you; I am very pleased with the photo, click for bigger too). Finally the name is an obvious WTF reference, which I probably used at least half dozen or more times today, legitimately!

Alcohol aroma with a hint of fruit. WTF? This is not very good! Bread and toasted malt flavors start things out, but those are mainly disguised by some alcohol brutality. Surprising since the alcohol content is only 7.83%. Since I couldn't deal with that, I let it sit around while I played around on Twitter for a while, hoping some warmth would take that edge off.

OK. So I'm back now. Please, God. Don't make me dump two in a row. Again, the big malts and breads, not bad. Sweet, but medicinal. Perhaps some fruits lingering in the background, and a distinct nutty flavor poking its head out. Shiver--yeah, it's not gone, but more manageable. Some herbal tea qualities accompany more off flavors. Sweet and bitter and alcoholic at the same time, all over the place. Creamy carbonation and smooth; it's the flavors and the dry, bitter ending that are killing this beer (which are pretty important, don't you think?). I'd give my right for a New Dogtown Pale Ale right about now. Definitely Pass!

BTW, for those of you that think I forgot a word in that last sentence, use your freaking imagination!

WTF?: How to Survive 101 of Life's Worst F*#!-ing Situations

U.S. Nylon US Flag 3X5 ft - American Made - Embroidered Stars - SALE!

OMG WTF Obama bumper sticker decal

Here's a picture of the bottle. That messed up lower left happened after I tried to scrape the store label off rather unsuccessfully. Why do they do that?

Thursday, May 27, 2010

Wacko

Got back from lunch today, typed in my password and boom! Some fake "we're saving you" virus was attacking my computer and the settings. After two hours with the geek squad, I was back in business. The timing sucked, too, as my new computer is finally in transit from HP. That is another story all its own--you'd think that HP might like to sell computers but don't be too sure.

Tonight I'm drinking Wacko brewed by Magic Hat Brewing Company in South Burlington, Vermont. This is their summer seasonal, and the label says "A beer with beet juice color". Great! Cool art work with a beet and vines, colorful as well. Drink by the end of July, 2010. Under the cap it says "Karma cannot be Denied".

Indeed it is a reddish-orange color. The aroma  is grainy and dirty, almost like a garden. Light sweetness and fruit to start, then some bitterness balance, then absolute terrible blech! Toasted dirty band-aid and dry horribleness. I have nothing else to say except this sucked and I dumped it before hitting the halfway mark. It is that bad! Give me the New Grist beer again before another one of these--that was Heavenly glorious in comparison!

McAfee AntiVirus Plus 1User 2010

This Is It (Single-Disc Edition) ~ Michael Jackson

Early Wonder Beet - 400 Seeds - BONUS PACK!

Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Devil's Milk

Has everyone noticed that there are tens of thousands of barrels of oil pouring into the Gulf of Mexico every day for over a month? No? You must be in some long-term video game tourney then! I forgive you. Anyway, BP is on like option 14 or some crazy number trying to stop the gusher. Nothing seems to be working, at least 100%.

I already drank the entire beer below, so I've decided to keep politics out of this. I mean, I am super-glad that President Obama had the foresight and strength to lead, as shown when he so charismatically said to "Plug the damn hole!" (Yes, even the Huffington Post)! It's wonderful to have pure genius around when we need it most!

On topic, yes, believe it or not, here are some of the absolute best pictures I have seen covering this disaster. The pictures are awesome, yet will make you cry (unless you are a nature-hating-motherfucker; and no, not for the dragonfly); they are so crystal clear and tell the story in pictures like I haven't seen even in words! I probably wont try to run that one asshole duck over tomorrow morning on the way to work! (Just kidding, PETA).

Tonight I'm drinking Devil's Milk brewed by DuClaw Brewing Company in Abingdon, Maryland.  I'm pretty sure I kicked some kid's ass in wrestling (that's scholastic wrestling, Ed Roberts) who was from there back in 1988, but that's the last time I've heard the name of this city. Really. Oh, the memories more than half of my life ago! LOL. I don't know, the label is pretty fucking scary. First the beer name; then the angel with his face buried in his hands in off-grays, blacks, and ominous purples; finally, a story, which ends with this phrase chicken-scratched into the label: "THE MILK MAN COMETH"! I'm not going to copy the whole story for you, but I took a picture. That might mean you can read it below. You'd know what I mean if you're a follower of my photographic skills!

The aroma is hoppy with plenty of pine, but there is just as much booze and spice to match that. Some subtle fruit as well. The flavors start out sweet, much moreso than expected, with tropical fruit nectar and a malty caramel. But then a rush of bitter hops and pine and spicy black pepper rip the sweet rug out from under you! Nevertheless, there is always a touch of sweet in this beer, from drop one to the end of big 22. A touch of light citrus comes in and out as well. The carbonation and 10.6% alcohol strongly interact as the beer progresses, a little angry and rough (perhaps Heaven and Hell?) in my mouth. Good body, thick and chewy, yet not syrupy one bit. The alcohol warms you up as well (is Satan in this beer?). There is a lasting bitter and pepper spiciness left on the palate. I don't have anything else to say except that the twists and turns of this beer would make one helluva South Park Episode! I liked it. Check it out if you can. If not for my friend who brought it back from DC, I'd not have had the chance. Thank you!

Misto Gourmet Brushed Aluminum Olive Oil Sprayer

Nutiva Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil, 54-Ounce Jar

The Devil's Milk: A Social History of Rubber

Here's the beer and the scary story. Click it and you can read it, but yes, it is blurry.

Tuesday, May 25, 2010

Saranac Summer Brew

Three-year old became four-year old today. He had a party at his school with cupcakes and crafts and singing, came home super happy. We're going to open some presents and cut a cake in a little bit. Should be a nice evening!

Tonight I'm drinking Saranac Summer Brew brewed by Matt Brewing Company in Utica, New York. The label suggests they are taking a lesson from Europeans, who for over 100 years have combined lager with lemonade for a summer refreshment. The label depicts a bear with shades (which he needed with my flash photography, below) lounging in his Adirondack chair with a pint of this beverage.

Bright lemon with grainy lageresque aroma. Very tart lemon starts each and every sip. Some grain and corn and honey try to balance that lemon, but end up keeping this a little to much on the sweet side. After a few sips, the lemon jolt at the beginning starts to feel a little fake, like a lemon drop candy. Still, it was mostly refreshing. What can I say? Lemonadey and at 3.5% alcohol, a non-beer-drinker's dream.

Clear Glass Cold Beverage Spigot Dispenser For Punch Lemonade or Sangria, 2-1/2 Gallon

Melissa & Doug Deluxe Grocery Store / Lemonade Stand

Merry Garden Tete-A-Tete Adirondack Chair Set

Monday, May 24, 2010

Beer Tasting Extravaganza: Coffee District Edition

Yesterday I mentioned that I was headed to Coffee District in Delray Beach for our second quarterly Beer Social Media tasting and meeting. Here was the summary from our Maiden Voyage at Total Wine in Pembroke Pines. During the first meeting, we had around ten people and sampled 14 different beers. This time, however, we broke the twenty-person barrier and sampled 32 different beers!

It was quite the experience. From telling one of my fellow bloggers that she was the first person I had ever spoken to with a lip ring (and that was before we even started drinking); to calling the guy that showed up in a suit by the obvious "Suit Dude" name; to the fake kiss with another beer blogger just to show how puckering one of the beers happened to be (it was for science, I swear); and finally toward the end of the evening I found myself photographing one of my online friend's tattoo! I have the picture but prefer that you check it out on her Potables and Edibles blog for now. Yep. Good Times!

I finally met Chung, the ultra-cool owner of Coffee District (pictured with some sweet beer taps behind him), who not only hosted us but also joined in on the tasting. Thanks again, Chung! I met the awesome guys that run The Funky Buddha, who should be selling their own beers pretty soon. About half way through our four-hour tasting, a lady walked in with a Cadillac hub cap. Yeah, I know. I was thinking that too. She turned out to be Phaan Howng, the General Manager of The Lodge, which is another cool Palm Beach County hangout. The Lodge owner Anthony was also present, but he deferred face-time to Phaan (she's cute too, not just funny and smart). I also met Andrew Weinstein who is trying to start up a local brewery here in Miami. That would be terrific! Finally, I sat next to TheCervezaChica the whole night, and it was awesome because she really helped me identify lots of people I didn't know by face. And many other bloggers, writers, and generally cool people made this an awesome event! Of course, Ed Roberts from Total Wine was there! He's the guy that organized everything. BTW, I ended up taking the hub cap home!!!

I also took a ton of pictures, including almost all of the 32 bottles, which I am going to show you below. The one to the left is the same art as I showed you a few days ago, but this time the picture is my own and not lifted from the Coffee District website.

Here are my reviews. I took ten pages of notes. My observations and writing got worse as my palate started to riot against me, but I have enough material here I do believe. Yes, thanks for noticing that a few are missing and pointing that out to me verbally. That's because I am teaming up with another blogger to review those as a guest. I will update the links when they are published, which all should be this week.

This is mostly the order we drank the beers in, although a few are slightly out of place as there were a few false starts on beers we put out to warm up a little bit first.  BTW, I know 32 sounds like a lot, but with over 20 people, we were really tasting a fairly small amount of each beer. That and a four-hour-plus session provided ample time to relax and enjoy. Take your time as this is really long, but hopefully the pictures will guide you through what interests you. Oh, and thank you for reading!

1. Conte Di Campiglia Etrusca. If you speak Italian, you can check out their website. This is a very simple beer, light lemon and light bitter, pilsner-type flavors. Smooth and no skunk! Good start!




2. The Bruery Rugbrød. I reviewed this in detail back in February if you're interested. For this review, I tasted rye and other grains, which provided a sharp, spicy kick. A little bitter or sour with a strong maltiness all the way through.




3. Goose Island Matilda 2010 and 2009. I actually brought the 2010 version. You may remember it was the March, 2010 Best Beer, which made the last bottle especially difficult to resist from my refrigerator. The 2009 version was brought by the guys at Funky Buddha. I had both, but didn't make any real distinction. I'm pretty sure I even combined them in one glass. If you care about the full review, read above. For this tasting, I mostly noticed a dark fruit and raisin, but some pears as well, with some spiciness.




4. Watermelon Wheat Home Brew by Phil from DosBeerigos. No picture, but imagine an antique blue glass jug being pulled out. From what I understand, Phil was trying to mimic the 21st Amendment beer Hell or High Watermelon, since his wife Kelly loved it so much. He said something about extract, but that I guess is secret society talk. You'd probably be surprised that this smelled like wheat and watermelon. Not powerful, but nice. First sip? Pretty flat. Phil mentioned that he's working on the carbonation right now. But the flavors are light, crisp and refreshing. Watermelon, lemon and wheat flavors are very tasty. A little like Bubblicious meets watermelon Jolly Rancher. Also, I think Phil is thinking about going into business brewing non-alcoholic beers, but we'll see where this one takes him!


5. Ian from FreshBeer Hoppy Home Brew. Again, Ian showed up with a no name beer. Apparently I gave the Raspberry Stout he brought last time a name, but although I remember some discussion, I don't have any documentation. For some reason I got the task of naming this one tonight (and there's added pressure as it will be entered into a contest soon). Thinking about it! Strong citrus and lemon rind started things out. Maybe it was carbonation withdrawal from #4, but this was awesomely carbonated, medium plus! Hoppy and very nicely bitter. Ian said about 6.5% alcohol, but it wasn't a factor. I liked it a lot. Very refreshing, and I had seconds and thirds! I'm pretty sure I heard Ian throw out that this was a grain only, no extract, brew. Hmmm. Fight with #4?


6. Grand Teton Pursuit of Hoppiness. Suit Guy (BTW, I do know his real name) brought this beer, in addition to the first one, the Italian Job. This brewery is in Idaho. I didn't ask how it ended up in South Florida, though. My bad. Anyway, it came in a 1 liter bottle, so there was plenty to go around. Nice grapefruit bitterness, some other citrusy fruits, and a noticeable 8.5% alcohol. I'd for sure drink it again.


7. Dogfish Head Chateau Jiahu. That picture doesn't look like the rest, Beer Drinker. Very observant, I must say! That's because I have reviewed this beer before, but not for over 6 months. Funniest thing is that it appears I took the picture some time after I reviewed the beer, because this picture didn't even make that review! Anyway, I guess I missed taking a picture of this one this time. Sue me! Sweet, very pleasant aroma. Flavors match that as well with sweet honey and grapes. While the consistency is a bit thick, some apple cider-type flavors keep it balanced just enough. I originally commented that I probably wouldn't drink this again, but let me tell you, I went back to this after everyone was done (the non-empty bottle was sitting in "the lineup" for 30 minutes) and had seconds. Really enjoyable and I'm saying even moreso following a very bitter beer!

8. Westvleteren 8. These dudes are calling it the Westy, which I thought was a dog, but I'll play along. Two things. First, the label was missing on the bottle because apparently it had been taken several places before where the group was not worthy of  the beer (so I was told). Second, this is not the Westy bottle, it's just another bottle that was reused for one of the home brews, and I got confused. I have a picture of the actual bottle, but this one came out better, and I figured that this is the closest a "Bud-type" bottle will ever get to those caps!
Dark fruits, plenty of raisins, really nice flavors. There are also candy and caramel flavors complexly intertwined with the fruits. I tasted more of a pear and peach toward the end. Also, strong carbonation. This is the Ferrari of beers, and I was honored to be part of a group that was finally worthy of opening it. I was going to put a joke here about how you might have thought a handful of the people had re-discovered the Ark of the Covenant when this beer was opened, but decided to skip it! :)


9. De Proefbrouwerij Andelot Cuvee Angelique. I didn't find a picture of this one. Not sure why. I give no excuses except that I dropped the ball. And I've never reviewed this one before so I didn't have a spare at home. Also, I couldn't read my own handwriting and was missing a few words, so I went to Beer Advocate because I know they get facts like that correct. This is a Belgian Dubbel. It also has mainly candy and a mix of fruity flavors. The fruitness is a little less raisin and more on the peachy pear side of things. Really good. I (un) jokingly said I liked this as much as the Westy, which we had just finished, to which someone said I could buy this at Total Wine for a fraction of the price. I think there was an agreement wink with my assessment, but I'll protect the innocent.


10. New Belgium Lips of Faith Kriek. My review for this beer is part of a special series I'm doing with Phil from DosBeerigos.com. By special, I mean we're goofing off on his blog this week!


11. Hair of the Dog Fred. I didn't write a lot down about this beer during our tasting, but a friend of mine recently asked me if we get HOTD beers here because I think he's planning a trip. When I said that we don't, he said, "Oh. Snap!" which I guess means they are good! This beer was quite bitter with noticeable and big alcohol. Fruity, spicy and incredibly hoppy all packed into half an ounce! Good little nibble to whet my appetite!


12. Sierra Nevada Southern Hemisphere Harvest Ale. This will be my second beer review with Phil from DosBeerigos. I will link it when it's published. Phil's promising a photo for the ages! Update 5/25/2010: Published at DosBeerigos.com


13. Adriaen Brouwer Dark Golden Ale. I think Ed from Total Wine brought this one. A new beer exclusive they are offering. Since he's a loyal reader, I'm sure he'll correct me if I'm wrong. This one's from Belgium if the name didn't tip you off. Very carbonated, which accentuates the cotton candy and fruity flavors. The 8.5% alcohol works well with those flavors as well.


14. AleSmith Wee Heavy Scotch Ale. You observant ones probably notice I got the wrong picture (right brewery though) with this review. Bite me! I've spent too many hours on this book for the Library of Congress! Chocolaty and rich to start, but there is a slight sourness behind those flavors. And the alcohol is very noticeable, yet not annoying even one bit. Really complex, lots of flavors working together here. I had a little extra of this one after the rest got a turn. Good lingering-ness of the flavors on your palate. Nice beer!

15. Mayflower Brewing Thanksgiving Ale. This is an English Style Old Ale according to the bottle. The main flavors were dark fruit and rum accompanied by a smooth toffee. Very distinct and pronounced alcohol in this one.


16. Trappistes Rochefort 2005. Jonathan said we needed to "warm this bitch up" a bit, so I think maybe we did this one after a few of the ones to come, but this is where it left the refrigerator. He also kept saying how much this reminded him of a cognac. Which made me think of this as a cognac, and it really did have those flavor characteristics. Before that idea got put in my head, I was thinking about dark cherries and other fruits. Very rich and complex texture, with noticeable alcohol. This beer is in the same class as the Westy we had earlier.


17. Anderson Valley Summer Solstice. This beer came in a growler donated by Phaan and Anthony from The Lodge. Sweet yet balanced with a nice honey flavor. I liked it a lot, and with 64 ounces, there was plenty to taste, even with so many people. Ian from FreshBeer wins the descriptive quote on this one: "Tastes like chocolate Teddy Grahams!" And he managed to convince a bunch of other people the same thing.


18. Panil Barriquee. This is an Oak Aged Sour Red Ale. Persistent cherry tartness throughout the entire experience. Just when you think you've had enough sour, a big dose of granny smith apples teams up with those cherries. As tart and sour as this is, there are also hints of sweetness; it's really a unique and interesting flavor profile. I like it!


19. Lil' Bitta Home Brew. This one is from Mike at MikeLovesBeer.com, another beer blogging buddy and dedicated Philly sports fan. Lil' Bitta was his first homebrewing effort and a really good one. Lots of lemon peel in this beer. Simple, refreshing and crisp. It's a little more than a lil' bitter but that is a fun name. Go over to Mike's site and check out the logo he made for the beer, too! Nice job.


20. Pretty Things Saint Botophs's Town. Hmmm. This one probably didn't get the attention it deserves. I wrote "Rustic Dark Ale" which I'm guessing the bottle says since I don't speak like that. Malty and nutty flavors. A little bitter with some dark fruit balance. One ounce will do that to you.


21. Shipyard Barleywine Style Ale. The picture of this bottle is with Chung above. Chung had that bottle, and I never got it back for a solo photo. LOL. So I decided this might be the perfect place to show you my new Cadillac hub cap! BTW, Thank you for making it with me this far. If you are exhausted, imagine me writing this novel! For this beer, I am having a hard time deciphering my notes as Phaan decided she'd like to doodle there with hearts and LODGE decorations! Anyhoo, this was a bitter beer, very hoppy, yet some rich chocolate provided a great balance.


22. Half Acre Baume. This was the other beer I brought along with the 2010 Matilda. Both came back with a friend of mine from a Chicago business trip a few months back. So thanks to him! Yes, another picture I didn't take at the tasting. That is a doily in my house! Here is another picture for your enjoyment. Sorry to get your hopes up for a review if there's not a link here yet, but this will be another in the DosBeerigos Guest Post series. Patience! Update 5/26/2010: Published at DosBeerigos.com.

23. Dogfish Head World Wide Stout 2006. This beer has 21% alcohol in it! Let's start there. You know, that's really dangerous, because although you can certainly feel an alcohol bite, four years of aging has taken any edge off that may have previously existed. What you have is a silky smooth chocolate upon chocolate upon chocolate treat. Very rich. It's funny because I am too cheap to buy the 2010 version at $10 a bottle, so this was really an awesome thing!

24. The White Hooter Home Brew. Twitter friend Vanessa is also a home brewer! And quite a good one, too. But Beer Drinker, that bottle has a label on it. Yes, Vanessa had her own bottle labels made for this beer! Pretty cool, right? Lemon aroma. Gigantic carbonation. The flavors were lemony as well, and the carbonation was prickly and refreshing. Light body, very refreshing and tasty. Thanks for bringing it, Vanessa! How'd you come up with that name?


25. Bohemian Pilsner Home Brew. This beer was also brewed by Vanessa (above). Wow. The only think I wrote is "lemon". Well, I did write a curse word, but I'm pretty sure that was directed at someone. :) Would love another shot at this one.



26. Goose Island Pere Jacques 2007. This is another one you'll need to wait for over on the DosBeerigos.com site. If there is a link here, the wait is over, for you slower readers. Update 5/27/2010: Published at DosBeerigos.com.





27. buLum Elderberry Black Beer. All I could muster for this review is Beeer, with an extra e. That probably isn't very fair, but neither is life. If you're dying to hear more about this beer, you'll probably need to look elsewhere.




28. Brew Dog Rip Tide. The label says this is a "Twisted Merciless Stout!" Chocolate, dark fruit, cherries. Creamy smooth, but under-carbonated.





29. AleSmith Speedway Stout. Enormous head! Rich and thick, dark and roasted, just how a stout should be. Definite alcohol presence with chocolate and fruit and a persistent, yet not overwhelming, burnt flavor. Creamy smooth, delicious!




30. Black Flag Imperial Stout. This will be the final DosBeerigos guest spot beer later this week. Hopefully Phil took a picture or can photoshop it from the lineup because I got nothing. Probably what happened is the name of the beer took me back to my home town, when Black Flag equaled the "band of the skaters", a group that wasn't particularly attractive (and I'm not (mostly) talking about appearance). Update 5/29/2010: Published at DosBeerigos.com.



31. Cigar City Big Sound Scotch Ale. Another picture not from the tasting. This one I have at home, yet have not cracked it open yet, although as you can see I have taken a picture. Actually, I have two bottles at home. I was going to send one to Cooking Asshole in my first ever beer trade, but "he doesn't really like Scotch Ales". Pussy. He's way too busy to read this but whatever! Hahaha. I sent him Cigar City's Warmer Winter Winter Warmer instead. This beer had some fruit and caramel? I don't know, but that's what I wrote. Smooth, creamy and flavorful. My palate is burnt to a char.

32. Hoppin' Frog Barrel Aged BORIS Oatmeal Imperial Stout. The ever-cool Ed Roberts brought this one. I had the normal BORIS several months ago, but this one was aged in whiskey barrels. There was a brief fight about it being bourbon barrels, but Ed drop-kicked Phil and Mike with the best WWF move you ever saw. I bet they pledged to cover that part of the story up, too. This beer is sweet, yet alcoholic, then you will taste some raisins followed by more alcohol. Guess what. I've had enough!



The Full Lineup... mostly.
















If you find a typo, tell me. If I made a name mistake, tell me. If you do it in a sarcastic way, which I've been known to do, I will fix the error, jump in my car, and hunt you down! Thank you so much for reading, and to everyone that was there with me Saturday night, I hope to see you again real soon!

Set of 27 Glee Pins 1.25" Buttons TV Show

Mr. Beer Premium Gold Edition Home Brew Kit

All About Home Beer Brewing -- Kindle Store