Sunday, March 31, 2013

Pug Ryan's Steakhouse and Microbrewery



While out on vacation in Colorado last week, my wife celebrated her 24th birthday (I might have gotten the numbers reversed). My parents, being parent-like, took the family out for dinner to celebrate at a place they go to every year there: Pug Ryan's Steakhouse and Microbrewery in Dillon, CO. I actually had no idea it was also a brewery before I called and made a reservation a few hours in advance, so that was a huge bonus.

When in Rome... I ordered the Prime Rib. Oh, I forgot that the first question was if they had a beer sampler, which of course was a rhetorical question/simultaneous order. Their sampler included a pale ale, wheat, pilsner, Scottish ale, and a choice of one of the other six beers. If I have one complaint, I'd have liked the option to have 8 or 9 on the sampler (or the waitress to upsell me to that "super-sampler" option). Yes, I'm aware that I could have ordered two samplers and tasted them all, but we didn't and that's Pug Ryan's loss.




Anyway, I chose the Brain Teaser Barleywine as our wild card beer. I enjoyed all of the beers, and this barleywine turned out to be my favorite--really nice rich caramel sweetness with spicy balance and a good dose of boozy warmth! My mom liked the Scottish Ale the best and my wife the wheat. My dad isn't much of a beer person and his comments surrounded the "negative" citrus and bittering effects of hops, LOL.

Since I didn't get to try all the beers in samplers, I ordered a full glass of Gorilla Vanilla Stout with my steak. Nice chocolate and vanilla flavors with a full dose of rum. You can also easily pick out the addition of Frangelico that they brew the beer with. Very interesting and unique and I did enjoy it.


As for the experience, the food was pretty good. Not the best prime rib I've ever had but it was tender and moist and the au jus and horseradish were perfect with it. The staff was very friendly and helpful and prompt (it was busy). The decor was a little much, slightly cluttered, with skis and snowshoes and steer horns and fish and blankets and banners on every wall. It would have been nice if the fire was roaring as well, as their website suggested. Rather, the wood in the fireplace sat idle and unburned. And it was definitely a "roaring fire" kind of night as it was snowing like hell outside.

Overall, the beers were all solid with a few standouts. My family had a fun time trying some new beers, and the food was very good. I think the prices were average to a little above average, but again, daddy paid the tab. I'd check it out again next year if I go, and my parents are pretty much evangelists so expect to see them if you're in town. Nice job, Pug Ryan's!




Thursday, March 28, 2013

St. Patrick's Day at Dillon Dam Brewery


Last week I was on vacation in Colorado. A guy on Twitter from the area recommended a visit to Dillon Dam Brewery, so the family and I decided to give it a shot. It was busy so we had a few minutes to look around. Upstairs, you got a lesson in brewing and could see all the tanks. They had pool tables and an open view of the lower level bar. They also had a tribute to their former brewer Matt Luhr that died unexpectedly several years ago.

That's when a glass of green beer caught my eye. I had completely forgotten it was St. Patrick's Day. Anyway, I was just hoping that I wouldn't see any green beer in front of me.

Dam this, dam that, lots of dam puns all over the dam place. A dam little bit overdone if I do say so my dam self! Don't forget your Dam Cold Beer on the way out, either (see pic below). OK. We were seated and I immediately ordered the beer sampler which included eight four-ounce beers, including all of the ones on the crappy picture at the bottom below except the Porter. My parents, wife and I had a fun time tasting all of them while we waited for our order to be prepared.


I enjoyed all of the beers, though my favorites were the Pale Ale and the IPA, unsurprisingly. Those were my dad's least favorite ones, and it was funny to see him bitch about the grapefruit and citrus juice bitterness. His favorites were the Dam Straight Lager and even the Dam Lyte version. "Now those are beers!"

My mom decided Sweet George's Brown Ale was her favorite while my wife liked the Wilderness Wheat best, but not enough to order a full glass (because of the calories, LOL). She proceeded to order the Zurich Burger which probably can't be considered a diet-conscious dish.



Service was great. Food was really good. All the beers were nice (And none were green. I guess you had to ask for that). And Dad picked up the check. I'll certainly be going back next time I'm in town. Check it out, Dam It!










Tuesday, March 26, 2013

Schöfferhofer Grapefruit Hefeweizen-Mix


That Ed Roberts is always getting me random beers from God knows where to try. This bottle of Schöfferhofer Grapefruit Hefeweizen-Mix is no exception with its "sample only, not for sale" sticker on the back. This is a grapefruit flavored wheat beer from Germany and comes in a clear bottle with just the name of the beer and a halved grapefruit on the label. Dated 12.12.13, which I guess is a drink by date?

Wheat and a generic citrus aroma. There is also a touch of that Heineken/Corona "scent" there, if you catch my drift. Wheaty flavors in the beginning are met by a powerful and tart grapefruit middle. Light and sweet orange adds a little balance. Juicy and refreshing. More wheat takes over through the finish. And that's about it.

Nice carbonation, prickly. With the low 2.5% alcohol, this seemed like a soda to me. Not bad but not exactly what I'd call a beer. I guess they didn't either, using "mix" for a definition.

Sunday, March 24, 2013

Maple Pecan Porter


I've had Sam Adams Maple Pecan Porter before. It was back when it was known as Sample B in their 2011 Beer Lover's Choice competition. At that point, I voted for Boston Beer to choose this beer over what became the eventual winner: Mighty Oak Ale. Oh, well. But it's nice to see that this had enough following to brew it again after the fact. 5.6% alcohol. Enjoy before June, 2013.

The aroma is rich and full of maple syrup and brown sugar. That perfectly translates on the palate as well. Sweet maple syrup and brown sugar flavors dominate the start. A decent amount of roasty bitterness does answer the call, though. A little nuttiness and hints of caramel and butterscotch also appear.

A little too sweet, but still OK. Body is nice. I bet this would be a great beer for you beer chefs.


Thursday, March 21, 2013

Heavy Seas Siren Noire



Clipper City Brewing in Baltimore makes some terrific beers. I LOVE their Loose Cannon IPA! So when I saw Heavy Seas Siren Noire on the shelf and it was also recommended by the distributor's rep, I decided to give it a shot,  despite its $7 bomber price tag (that's a $22.91 six pack equivalent). Apparently, this beer was changed a little for 2013, tripling the amount of chocolate, adding vanilla bean, and aging in bourbon barrels for three weeks. The beer is part of the Uncharted Waters Series.

Not sure who the long-haired goddess is on the label but I'd like to meet her. There is a story on the side panel about the beer and what to expect based on what the ingredients. Another panel talks about their Uncharted Waters series, which explores aging beer with different types of wood.

Well, the aroma is definitely chocolaty! A light fruity cherry and coffee also come across on the nose, though no scents are very powerful. But... HELLO CHOCO-BOURBO flavors! Chocolate is really prominent and the velvety texture is to die for. Bourbon flavors are also very prominent.

Not sweet and even a little hoppy profile. Another plus is that there is no asshole roasted bitterness in this beer. Plenty of wood and vanilla with hints of coffee espresso, all working really well together. Though the boozy bourbon flavors really stand out, the 9.5% alcohol is not annoying at all. Nice body, nice complementary flavors. I'd check it out again for sure!





Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Lolita 2011


I've been trying to get a bottle of Goose Island Lolita for several years. I don't know exactly when it went from being an on-premise-only, high-end Vintage Ale in their collection to one my trading buddy Indy Marie got in her local beer shop, but I suppose that Goose Island's new owners had something to do with that. This bottle is Vintage 2011 with a bottling date of 11/12/11: 1454.

Lolita is a Belgian Style Ale according to the label, while classified as a Sour/Wild Ale by the big beer rating sites. The label on this 650 mL bottle is simple while still coming across quite elegant. The label suggests you can age this for 5 years, so I guess that Indiana liquor store did one year for me (Thanks!). Lolita was brewed with raspberries and aged in wine barrels.

Tart raspberry puree aroma with a wine-like and lemony touch.  WOW! I knew it was coming but WOWSA! Raspberry tartness steps right up and attacks the hell out of your taste buds. After a few sips, you will start to appreciate that aspect while also starting to notice some sugary fruity sweet peach and orange balance. Tangy is a good word right about now.

Very dry. Acidic wine and sour grape flavors are present along with a touch of oak, but make no mistakes that the raspberries are the star. Yes, the Bretty yeast and funk are also noticeable and persist throughout, but I'd say this is more of a "tamed wild", perhaps more like a house cat than a lion.

Nicely crisp with a creamy texture with a low to medium carbonation. Not sure where they hid the 9% alcohol, but it wasn't noticeable at all. Very nice beer. Enjoyable all around! Grab it if you can!

Sunday, March 17, 2013

Rooney’s Old Irish Style Ale -- Heath McKnight Guest Post

St. Patrick's Day! I'm on the slopes in Keystone, Colorado. A few weeks ago, a local guy named Heath (that I probably should have met by now) sent me a guest post that I decided was most appropriate for today, considering the holiday. Don't drink Green Beer! Heath sent me this bio...

"Heath McKnight is the Web Content Manager and Editor at doddleNEWS, covering film production technology, and tech and entertainment news. He's also a filmmaker, writer and enjoys running."

Rooney’s Old Irish Style Ale


About three weeks ago, my girlfriend and I went to Artigras in Jupiter, Florida. I hadn’t been in years but we had a lot of fun, ate great food, drank some cold and forgettable beers, and I spent way too much money on artwork and photos for my home. A fresh beer was in order, and a trip to Rooney’s Pub in Abacoa (Jupiter) led me to discovering their own beer, Rooney’s Old Irish Style Ale, and it’s a blended red and amber ale.

This was my first trip to Rooney’s Authentic Public House in Jupiter, but I used to hang out in their western West Palm Beach location a lot a few years back, and my friends and I used to hit their former Clematis Street bar all the time in the late 90s. So I was excited to return and watch the Florida Panthers, who incidentally gave up a lead to the Tampa Lightning and lost. Sigh...

Anyway, Rooney’s is promoting the heck out of their own ale, and the deal was $3 for a bottle. I gave it a shot and the server brought out a cold bottle. The front is a simple ‘R’ and the name of the beer, along with an illustration of downtown Pittsburgh. The side of the bottle talks about the history of the Rooney family, with a little picture of ‘The Chief,’ the patriarch of the family. It discusses their love of Pittsburgh and the Steelers, and a brief explanation of the ale. It also discusses how they blended an ‘Irish style Red Ale with an American Amber Ale.’ It’s brewed and bottled by the Pennsylvania Brewing Co. in Pittsburgh.


I poured it into a chilled glass, and it’s indeed copper to dark red in color as the bottle states, and I can smell a little bit of caramel, hops and malt. The first taste is bitter, but there’s no bad aftertaste, and after a few more sips, the bitterness goes down. It definitely has that classic ‘microbrewed taste,’ which my definition is that it’s not an average beer, like one that rhymes with ‘ludweiser.’

I finished the beer over lunch, which included beer cheese soup made with Rooney’s Ale and a shepherd’s pie. Not too bad of a lunch, pretty good day with my girlfriend, and I enjoyed their beer enough to go to my local Total Wine and grab a bottle to review.

Rooney’s Old Irish Style Ale is pretty good, and I’ll give it a 7 out of 10, mostly because of that bitterness. I’ve gotten into red ales of late, and had some good ones over at my local World of Beer. I recommend having a cold Rooney’s, especially if you just dropped too much cash on something you didn’t need. Find out more at http://rooneysbeer.com/rooneys-old-irish-ale.



Friday, March 15, 2013

By The Glass Show: Second Anniversary Party at The Sybarite Pig


By The Glass Show took its crew on the road last night for a remote broadcast at The Sybarite Pig in Boca Raton, Florida. The show celebrated its second anniversary with a focus on no particular topic, just all things beverage culture. I joined the regular crew and show research manager Ed Roberts stopped by as well. In addition to being our host, Syb Pig Owner Daniel Naumko also sat in and answered some questions about his craft beer bar and restaurant. The anniversary show was a pre-game for a Steak and BJ (Bottle Jam) dinner afterward. Everyone brought a bomber of beer to share.


We started the show by trying out a taste of Brett's homebrew. Brett mentioned that he recently passed some BJCP judging exams and was also working toward Cicerone certification, so he was dropping science like Galileo dropped the orange (yes you will need to listen to the whole thing). Anyway, Brett's beer had some potential and good chocolate and coffee flavors, not bad, but it had some stiff competition to compete with at this place.

The Syb Pig had eight beers on tap, and after all was said and done, Daniel graciously let us try three of those during the show. We started with a collaboration beer called Jerome & Spike's Barley Ryne brewed by Terrapin and Switzerland's Brasserie des Franches-Montagnes (BFM). Excellent candied apricot and orange flavors really opened things up. Sweet and boozy from the rum-barrel aging with a spicy rye finish. Very nice.


Next up, Back Forty's Naked Pig Pale Ale, an appropriate draft considering the restaurant name. Nicely hoppy and bitter, refreshing and clean. We then sampled Cigar City's Cervezas Frescas Series Guanabana Ale, a beer they brewed in collaboration with famous local homebrewer Johnathan Wakefield. Probably the haziest, cloudiest looking beer I've ever seen; looked like a banana smoothie. The taste was tropical and fruity, very juicy, pleasantly sour and refreshing.

Ed Roberts brought a bottle of Cigar City Hunahpu 2013 for us to try, acquired on Hunahpu's Day at the brewery a few days ago. The reaction from the show was mixed. Brett insisted on a black olive aroma. For me, it was more like a vegetable garden and peppery and earthy. Molasses seemed to be the dominant flavor with some pepper and chocolate and prune flavors leading to a lasting cinnamon finish.

Cigar City's Cervezas Frescas Series Guanabana Ale
That was about the time the bottle share began, as our normal hour went by swiftly and other restaurant guests started to arrive. Jorge kept the show rolling though, so we kept on tasting. Jason took "bottle" to mean Cognac, specifically Meukow VS, and it turned out to be one of the treats of the evening. This VS was aged for 6 years, on the long end for a VS. The aroma of butterscotch and violets was awesome! Candied dried fruit and vanilla, soft with some heat on the lips. I had seconds.

We finished the show with a long list of thank yous and a bottle of Squatter's Barrel of Russians Imperial Stout. I brought this beer and had mentioned earlier in the show that it was pretty hot when I first tried it a year ago. Well, that was no longer the case as the alcohol totally mellowed and the beer developed. Molasses and figs, a little sugary. Really nice rich flavors.



We then passed the bottles around the other guests and got started with the Steak and BJ portion of the evening (check out the list below!). Ed and I stayed for dinner and decided to sit at the bar and chat more with Daniel and Bartender Steven. Daniel told us a little about a few of the beers he brought back from Texas as well as some ideas he has for the restaurant. He mentioned some fun ideas for events and is considering a bottle share club with limited membership.

Dinner time... Steak and these great cheesy scalloped potatoes. The steak was totally awesome! Looking at it, with no juices on the board, you might think it's going to be dry. Cutting into it, the almost rare inside, you might think it was going to be chewy. YOU WILL BE WRONG. So tender and moist and flavorful, was fabulous. Daniel explained that was due to using the sous vide method of cooking. Dessert was a delicious slice of cheesecake. I had an excellent evening and a great meal. Thanks, Syb Pig! You've definitely proven your Craft Beer Craft Grub motto.



Yes, that is my finger

Throughout dinner we tried the following beers...

Brooklyn Local 2: always awesome

Westbrook Cap'n Skoon's Ballistic Stout: pruney and weird, one of my least favorites

Shipyard Gladiator Essedarius Bourbon-Barrel Aged Imperial Roman Ale: a very nice barleywine with candied sweetness and a nice dose of bourbon, good beer

Adelbert's Tripel B Bad Boy Brew: fruity and creamy with a touch of spice, complex and very flavorful

The Bruery Saison Rue: nice spicy rye flavors, excellent

Victory White Monkey: this is Golden Monkey Tripel aged in chardonnay barrels. Really tasty, fruity, complex with wine flavors, and most importantly missing the boozy and syrupy flavors I don't like about the original beer.

Sante Fe Kickin Chicken Bourbon-Barrel Aged Barleywine: sweet, hot alcohol, boozy

Thirsty Dog Old Leghumper: an ordinary and average porter, coffee, roasted flavors

Dogfish 75 Minute IPA: nicely hoppy with noticeable sweetness, perhaps a little too sweet

Blue Mountain Long Winter's Nap Blonde Triple Bock Lager Beer: fruity, very sweet and syrupy, didn't really enjoy it at all



1965 Mustang Parked Out Front


Thursday, March 14, 2013

Saint Saltan Gose


Today I'm checking out Saint Saltan Gose brewed by Magic Hat Brewing Company in South Burlington, Vermont. They actually sent me the beer too. The label says that this was brewed with coriander and sea salt. The label art is pretty cool: abstract illustration of a bearded man, presumably Saint Saltan. Not sure if he's a real saint or a "beer company saint". Under the cap you get some advice, "find salvation through acts of creation".

Aroma of coriander and soft flowers. Light body and prickly carbonation are the first things that come to mind when drinking, even before any flavor impressions. The beer is not flavorless but let's say they are certainly muted. 

A little wheat flavor and texture is present and blanketed by the coriander. A touch of honey sweetness with some citrus and floral balance. The finish is actually a bit salty, though that was not exactly a favorite part for me. Very easy drinker, the 4.6% alcohol wasn't a factor. Refreshing but lacking some flavor. Give it a try on a hot winter's day (like today (in Florida)).

Monday, March 11, 2013

B/A/Y/S Imperial Stout Ghost 002


I have a pretty cool treat here today. I've been accepted as an Official Taste Tester for Adroit-Theory Brewing Company. I'm sure there are several others like me and I don't know how "official" the title is, but it's still cool. Follow along.

Adroit-Theory is currently working on paperwork to start selling their beers, hopefully around June, 2013. Until then, they are building a line-up of beers and soliciting feedback while trying to get a following prior to that launch. They sent me two bottles of home brew, nicely packaged, with some stickers and a great letter of introduction.

I decided to start with B/A/Y/S Imperial Stout Ghost 002. (B/A/Y/S stands for Black As Your Soul). Let me first say the label art is terrific. The design is inspired by the Rorschach Ink Blot test. At first you look at the resulting "blot" and see a moth. Look more closely and see a skull and some words (Black As Your Soul) buried underneath, and even birds flying away. And that's just me (post beer).  Just keep staring! A border of skulls outlines the inner blot.



The brewery decided to keep their styles organized by using series of three related beers called Trifectas and then defining beers within the Trifecta with Ghost numbers to identify how the batch was prepared. So I have B/A/Y/S Imperial Stout Trifecta 1 Ghost 002. Trifecta 1 beers are all inspired by Nine Inch Nails songs. Trifecta 2, Serial Killers. Trifecta 3, Gang Themes. (I think I'm gonna like this brewery, not lacking in creativity!)

The label goes on to tell me that this Batch is prepared by aging it for three weeks on 100 year old reclaimed Chestnut staves, with cherries and hazelnuts added along the way. I got bottle 41/100. I don't see anywhere the size of the bottle, but it appears to be a 375 mL bottle, corked and nicely caged with a sticker over the cage identifying the beer. That sticker also gives several definitions of Adroit: Expert, Cleverly Skillful, Ingenious, etc.



Also attached to the cage is a Manifesto. I'll let you read that below and then you can tell me what it means. I really like their motto, "Consume Life Drink Art", which they say is also their way of life. The label also says this is from The Mud Hound Sessions, referring to the help received from Greg Skotzko from Mud Hound Brewing. Finally, you are offered meat, cheese, and tobacco suggestions to pair with the beer, though I paired mine with my mouth only. Serve 52-56°F. ABV 9.1% IBU 80



Now for the beer! Awesome aroma. Rich chocolate, nicely sweet with hints of coffee. You can also smell the cherry addition though it's not very powerful. Chocolate flavors are prevalent in the beginning, with a silky, creamy texture. You will taste subtle sweet cherry flavors in the background, nicely balancing a recognizable hoppy bitterness and coffee roast.

Definitely not lost in the conversation is the Chestnut flavor from the aging process. Though I didn't really smell any at the beginning, I felt I could start to smell and taste them while drinking the beer (you know your nose and mouth are connected, right?) The 9.1% alcohol offers a constant heat and warmth in your throat and chest, while also enhancing the nuances in the beer.

A little burnt woody dryness finishes things off. Nice aftertaste too! Complex with wood, cherry, coffee and chocolate, all working well together. Great beer! Very enjoyable!








Friday, March 8, 2013

Mad Meg Farmhouse Provision Ale


Volume 3 of the beers my buddy in El Paso sent me: Jester King Mad Meg Farmhouse Provision Ale. This is a wine sized bottle, as usual. The label art is excellent and depicts Mad Meg, a character from Flemish folklore that was said to organize and lead an army of women into Hell to pillage it! Meg has been busy in this scene, as she's donning her sword and is splattered with lots of blood.

The story on the side of the bottle continues the tale above, after Meg has returned from Hell.  "To Hell with..." a lot of things! Anyway, the story is very interesting (read below) and was also the subject of a 1562 painting by Pieter Brueghel the Elder named Dulle Griet (translated Mad Meg). The final panel on the label tells you the ingredients and a little about what to expect in the beer.

Dulle Griet by Pieter Brueghel the Elder, 1562, Wikimedia Commons
Despite a careful pour, I almost lost the head over the top. Good thing it was a little clingy. Nice aroma. Fruity apples and even bananas with plenty of spices and yeast and funk.

Holy wow! Very tart with acidic sour apples to start. Quite shocking. Also noticeable right from the start was a thicker than expected, even lightly syrupy, consistency. So yeah, along with that you have some major yeasty farmhouse and funkiness going on. After a glass you get a little used to that tartness but not all the way.

Spicy black pepper and cloves along with a prickly carbonation really give your palate a work out. There is a faint sweet malt in the background, not really enough to offer much balance to the sourness. And beyond the sourness, there is also a definite hoppy bitterness. Next up, 9.6% alcohol, very prominent, boozy and (almost) got an alcohol shiver.

Not soft or light or delicate as I was hoping, though the label does say to expect an "assertive beer". Definitely hit the nail there. The flavors are there but are not really cohesive and are a bit all over the place. Oh, and the alcohol too. I'd pick another Jester King bottle when you're shopping.










Wednesday, March 6, 2013

Ticket To Rye IPA


Magic Hat sent me a bottle of Ticket To Rye IPA to check out. This is part of their IPA on Tour series. In the foreground, you see someone holding up an All Access ticket to "The Magic Hat", which is apparently a pretty popular ride/show/something considering the crowd in front of it. Your fortune under the cap: "To thine own self be true--have another brew."

Pine and spicy aroma with a touch of caramel, though no scents were too powerful. Sweet caramel flavors come first but are quickly met with a little lemon citrus and plenty of spicy rye. The rye is very forward and brought out even more by the 7.1% alcohol.

As you keep drinking, the lemony flavors and alcohol start to build and leave a little alcoholic medicinal flavor on the palate. The finish is a bit herbal. Overall, lightly bitter but not too much. Not a bad beer but grab a six pack of Sierra Nevada Ruthless Rye way before taking this home.

Monday, March 4, 2013

O'Ryely IPA


A new member of Widmer Brothers' Rotator Series caught my eye a week or so ago. Having enjoyed most if not all of them in the past, I decided to give O'Ryely IPA a shot. The label could use a major upgrade from its non-attempt at an outdoorsy hop bine scene. My bet is that the beer is better. Bottled Dec 13, 2012. 6.4% alcohol.

Excellent grapefruit aroma with light pine and rye showing through. Rye flavors and citrus bitterness dominate at the beginning, quite peppery on the palate. Good body and not thin at all. Grass and flowers meet some bread dough. Not exactly balanced but not really hoppy bitter either. Rather, the rye plays a major role with its spiciness, carrying all the way through the finish. There is also a little alcohol dryness at the end.

Flavorful and enjoyable. Check it out!

Friday, March 1, 2013

Old Elephant Foot IPA


Tampa Bay Brewing Company suddenly has their beers in South (East) Florida! Yep, these guys opened a Tap House in Coral Springs recently. I was unable to attend the opening, but I did manage to get a pounder can of their Old Elephant Foot IPA from a friend of mine. One day I'll actually make it to Coral Springs again and check the place out. I promise!

The can calls this Draft Beer To Your Face! Yep, the can has an old elephant dressed in a purple mumu holding a goblet of beer. On the side of the can, the brewery explains that they've been brewing this since the 90's and that it's been so misunderstood until recently because it was a West Coast IPA here on the east coast.


Good head. Lots of floaties and sediment. Sweet citrus aroma and nicely fruity beyond that with apples and apricots. Flavors are WAY more bitter than the aroma let on, and I was shocked despite the 80 IBU warning on the can. Lemon and orange peel citrus dominate. Dryness from the 7% alcohol is apparent right from the beginning. Hints of pine show, but then comes aggressive king grapefruit with more bitterness.

Quite astringent. Add some grassy, alcoholic and lightly metallic notes to have some annoying flavors build toward the end. For the record, the floaties didn't do anything to this beer except perhaps scare off a few customers that didn't like the appearance. The beer was good but with no real balance, and I'd reach to other West Coast IPAs that bring the bitter but still offer balance. For example, Green Flash West Coast IPA. Worthy of a try, especially if you're able to make it to the brewpub. See you there.