Saturday, June 28, 2014

Miami Culinary Tours: Wynwood Restaurant and Art Gallery Tour

Wynwood Kitchen and Bar

A few months ago, I was asked if I only reviewed beer. I chuckled as this website has always been much broader than just a beer review site, so I decided to take Miami Culinary Tours Founder Grace Della up on her offer to check out their Miami Foodie tours in exchange for a review of my experience. My wife and I ended up at the Wynwood Art District tour today to check it out! Below is my experience and since I took so many pictures, I'll post a gallery of them over on SoulOfMiami.org as well! Lots of pictures there!

We arrived early (one of my most redeeming characteristics). That gave us a few moments to check out the Wynwood Walls and Wynwood Doors outdoor art murals, though we were sure that this might be the initial presentation from our guide. At tour time, all six of our group met Guide Mirka in the entrance to Wynwood Walls. Mirka gave us a little history of Wynwood, from a graffiti art and culinary perspective. One of the key players in both was Tony Goldman. He and his family have been very involved with commissioning artists for these Walls, in addition to being the owners of some of the original local restaurants.

Wynwood Walls and Doors are basically art parks, full of murals from every type of graffiti artist imaginable. Mirka led us through each of them letting us know about the artists, where they were from and what they were know for. I hadn't seen these before, though I'd seen some of the "street graffiti" so prevalent in the Wynwood streets. These pieces were excellent. I personally liked the one done with a chisel by Vhils and a trio of chicks by Santiago Something (I knew I'd forget). Oh, and the giant wall by Futura (who I recognized from his work with Hennessy (alcy))! But, seriously, there were so many awesome works.


Dude, it was an angry hot today in Miami! So we went to our first food stop and cool down at the nearby Wynwood Kitchen and Bar. Brazil was no longer winning their match at that point! We were treated with a glass of La Rubia from nearby Wynwood Brewing! I met those guys and had this beer before--perfect for today! Along with the beer and water and conversation about some of the interesting things about the restaurant, we had some empanadas stuffed with ropa vieja, tequeño, and fried plantains with queso blanco (turn on your Spanish translator). Great food!

We then started the walking part of our tour, hitting a few galleries along the way. You could tell that Mirka knew what were the important things to see along the way, letting us know who did certain murals and making sure we stopped at some important galleries. Some galleries were closed, but the owners still let us in. Some had new exhibits, but let us back in the storage rooms to see recent pieces by very famous artists. Helps to be connected!

We saw some amazing pieces of art. My personal favorites were a spectacular light exhibit at Pan American Art Projects and the crazy pieces made from compressed cut up toys from Japanese Manga figurines at Three is a Magic Number 8 gallery. We saw $90,000 bronzes by Jimenez Deredia (the only non European with art at the Vatican) and other famous art by Colombian Artist Botero at Ascaso Gallery. And so many awesome outdoor murals along the way!


After a quick bite at Mmmm Tartines, we were on the way to Jimmy'z Kitchen Wynwood. Jimmy'z is known for preparing some of the best mofongo, a plantain based dish with heritage from Puerto Rico. And it was the first bowl of mofongo for half of us, even though the whole tour had some local roots here in Miami. Very good food, rich, filling.

Across the street, we visited Pride and Joy, a killer BBQ joint with the most awesome decor! (They also have a terrific beer and bourbon list)! The aroma of this joint was amazing! We watched soccer to the end of Brazil v. Chile tie (though we left at penalty kicks). There was a truck parked inside, the lamps were made with beer cans and Bulleit Bourbon bottles, there was a dude talking to us while taking BBQ out of enormous smokers, and I personally loved the old beer can display they had. Oh, and the BBQ Slider we tried was awesome, on its own and with the "Sweet Heat" sauce I added. I'll definitely be back.


Finally, across the street again (kick ass intersection) was SuViche, a ceviche and sushi place. We were treated to some terrific ceviche and a Pisco Sour cocktail. Terrific! Chile put one off the cross bar and blew their chances in regulation AND penalties to knock out the host nation Brazil. Whatever, my wife is from Colombia and they kicked Uruguay's asses later. Oh, and U.S.A.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Basically, this was a Food AND Art Tour--I thought it was going to be more food-centric but by the end of the afternoon, I realized it couldn't be anything else in Wynwood! Mirka was very knowledgeable, knew the artists, knew the restaurants and the food, and wasn't shy about helping us get to see a few "extras" from the galleries when the opportunity arose. She also called 911 when this chick flipped out on her boyfriend-in-law after she threw a bottle at his car window! (I don't think that's part of every tour though).

I'd totally check it out again in a second, one of the other tours maybe next time, but Wynwood was excellent!


















Friday, June 27, 2014

FOCOllaboration American Pale Ale


I missed trying a few beers from New Belgium's Hop Kitchen series since checking out their Fresh Hop India Pale Ale last November. That changed today when they sent me Hop Kitchen #6, an American Pale Ale brewed in collaboration with fellow Fort Collins brewery Odell Brewing. Or as they call it, a FOCOllaboration!

The story on the side of the label talks a little about the collaboration, where Odell's Fawcett malt was used with New Belgium's Centennial, Cascade and Citra hops to create this beer. They then suggested using the prairie dogs between the breweries to shuttle ingredients, which is depicted on the label art. Check out the picture--it's a fun label! 6.7% alcohol. Enjoy by 31AUG14 ---> oh, and "best enjoyed with a neighbor!" Well, for me, Big 22 was almost gone by the time I read their suggestion to share.

Nice aroma full of orange citrus and herbal sweetness with a touch of pine. Sweet orange and a little honey are the first flavors. Those are balanced by some fresh, hoppy citrus bitterness. There is also a floral aspect and again just a touch of pine in the background. As you keep drinking, an herbal tea flavor keeps building, bringing back some additional sweetness. Nicely carbonated, lightly prickly in the mouth. The finish is dry with a touch of alcohol, and a lingering fruitiness hangs on the palate after each sip. I liked it!

Monday, June 23, 2014

Dunkles


I was recently asked if I'd like to check out Dunkles, an unfiltered dark lager brewed by Gordon Biersch. Dunkles was the only beer on tap on opening day in July, 1988 at the company's first restaurant in Palo Alto, California. To celebrate its 25th Anniversary, Dunkles is making its bottling debut in swing top wine bottles. I first heard about Gordon Biersch back around 2004 on a business trip to Atlanta. As I was leaving a meeting at Coca-Cola headquarters, they suggested I check out the Gordon Biersch restaurant nearby. I've had many pints since! 5.4% alcohol.

Inviting aroma of sweet caramel, raisins and some ripe banana. Rich caramel malty flavors are dominant throughout though you will taste some dark fruit character as well. Light toast is also there. And that's about it for flavors--this is a very simple beer. The sweet aroma is not realized in the flavor profile as the hoppy balance is more than adequate, even making the beer lean bitter toward the finish. Nice carbonation. Enjoyable. I easily finished the entire wine bottle!

Friday, June 20, 2014

By The Glass Show: Terrapin Beer Company


Last night, regular ByTheGlassShow.com host Brett Hubbard was teaching a beer class, so I got the call up from the minors for my hosting debut! We welcomed Terrapin Beer Company's Florida Sales Manager Andy Rattner to the studio to tell us about the brewery and sample some of their beers. After some wicked weather delayed the start of the show, we managed to put together a really fun live broadcast, which you can watch over an over again! Oh, and forgive the lack of pictures as I was a little busy, but if you click some of the links below, you can see some photos I took in the past.

Andy told us a little about the history of the brewery and what's to come. We all thought Terrapins were from Maryland, not Athens, Georgia where the brewery is located. But apparently brewery founder Spike Buckowski is a big "Dead Head" and the Terrapin name comes from his love of the Grateful Dead and their Terrapin Station album. You will see the theme repeated in other beer names and the awesome artwork on their labels (and cans!).

Terrapin Beer was born from having their beers contract brewed, out of necessity. Once established, however, they took the reigns and today brew almost all of their beer in Athens. Their very first beer, Rye Pale Ale was barely on the market in 2002 when it won Gold at the Great American Beer Festival in a crowded pale ale field! That was enough to get them some attention and investment in their business. Flash forward 12 years and the brewery has expanded and now distributes beers in 11 states.


Jason chimed in halfway through that introduction asking for our first beer. We started with Maggie's Farmhouse Ale, Terrapin's summer seasonal saison brewed with fresh Georgia peaches. The aroma is really terrific, full of sweet peaches, very rich. The flavors, however are not sweet at all. Rather, this is lightly tart, tangy, and has all the peach flavor without its sweetness. Andy told us they let the yeast just eat up all of the sugar from the fruit to accomplish this.

Moving right along, Andy broke out a few cans of their new session beer called RecreationAle. This is the first beer that Terrapin canned. I asked if this RecreationAle was a product of their Side Project series, as Maggie's was originally Side Project 7. The answer was no, but the story behind the creation of this hopped up session ale was pretty funny. It turns out that Easy Rider Magazine didn't appreciate Terrapin's Easy Rider beer a few years back, thus the name change to RecreationAle. The beer was full of citrus, quite hoppy, and very refreshing.

That's when Andy told Jorge and Jason that he was opening the second IPA of four in the lineup for the night! Not being hops lovers, they almost shut down the tasting right there, LOL. Next up was Terrapin's new year-round called Hi-5 IPA, brewed in the West Coast style. I went for a high five with Jorge and he left me hanging! Was awkward! The beer was great, full of citrus and terrific hoppy bitterness. Jason said it was "at his threshold" for the style and was getting nervous about what was to come.


Hi-5 IPA was also canned, Terrapin's second canned beer, so I asked Andy about that trend and if Terrapin was going to go in that direction. The first time I asked, he cracked a joke, but by the end of the night I think he gave ByTheGlassShow the scoop that though it wasn't his decision, he thought all of the brewery's 12 ounce bottles would be eventually replaced with cans!

Jorge's face grew pale when Andy introduced Terrapin's best selling beer, Hopsecutioner India Pale Ale! But both he and Jason were pleasantly surprised that this beer was much maltier, richer, more balanced and lost most of that grapefruity citrus bitterness found in the other beers. And after the show, Jorge was drinking it right out of the bottle!

Terrapin still brews their original Rye Pale Ale as a year-round offering. They even took that beer to another level in the past with their Rye Squared Imperial version. And now, to change things up, they are welcoming Rye Cubed as part of their Monster Beer Tour Series. This series is a second seasonal trio of beers that alternates between the other seasonal offerings. Big malty flavors, very rich, loved it! I asked why Terrapin uses so much rye in their lineup. Andy said that besides being a favorite of Spike, he thought that the flavors it imparts on beer could be interesting for a person that normally drinks whiskey.

I couldn't believe the hour was almost up, so we went right to the last beer, Side Project 23 Guano Loco, a beer brewed with ancho chilies and brownies. After Jorge confirmed pretty much what Urban Dictionary said regarding the name, we tasted that beer. Very interesting . Rich brownie flavors with a building spicy heat in the finish that lingers in the back of your throat and chest. Fun beer!


I asked what the goal of the Side Project Series was, whether to just have fun and be creative or to experiment in the hopes one was so popular that it could join the regular beer offerings. Andy said a little of both, but mostly for experimental fun. If the latter happened, so be it! And at least 6 or 7 of the 23 total have made that leap including the soon-to-be-released year round offering Liquid Bliss Chocolate Peanut Butter Porter! Yum!

What else about the brewery besides dominating the Southeast IPA scene? They enjoy working with other breweries on collaborations and currently have one with Green Flash available called Tangerine Dreamsicle Cream IPA. Terrapin has teams of employees home brew in a competition with the winners having their beer brewed the next year. Andy was pretty excited to talk about that since his team won last year and their beer will be released later this year. I can't wait to check that out.

Thanks to Andy for the beers and a very informative hour. And thanks to the show for the opportunity to play guest host!



Thursday, June 19, 2014

Saranac High Peaks Single Malt Scotch Ale


Matt Brewing Company in Utica, New York brought back some Scotch whiskey barrels after a visit to the Tomintoul Distillery in Scotland. The purpose was to create a single malt barrel-aged Scotch Ale. They recently sent me a few bottles of their Saranac Single Malt Scotch Ale to check out as I might not otherwise find this limited beer from their High Peaks Collection.

The label is simple, just an illustration of a Scotch barrel and some information/stats about the beer. This is a blend of beer with barrel-aged beer. 9.0% alcohol. The few pieces of material sent with the beers said I should drink this at room temperature. Being the skeptic, I threw the bottle in the freezer for about 15 minutes. Then I drank the beer from NY room temperature to FL room temperature, if you catch my drift.

Great aroma--caramel, butterscotch, toast and for sure whiskey. Sugary sweet caramel and butterscotch candy flavors to start. At the end of each sip, there is a whiskey kick and warmth in the chest, welcome and not annoying. The texture is creamy, feels nice in the mouth. Not too heavy, medium body (perhaps you could say wee heavy, right?) And despite my skepticism, I think it was perfect at a cool temperature, even right up to room temperature. Quite enjoyable!

BTW, how does my picture compare with their professional version below? Be sure to tell me!


Tuesday, June 17, 2014

Sapporo Beer Lineup

12 year old said he knew how to use the iPhone. Obviously he needs quite a few lessons.
A few weeks ago I was approached by a PR firm here in the US representing Sapporo, Japan's oldest beer brand. They had this crazy idea that instead of taking the usual beers to your backyard barbecues or beach excursions, you might want to reacquaint yourself with Sapporo! I volunteered for the beach picnic idea, but I really don't like the beach that much. So I had to get creative!

After the US almost blew it against Ghana yesterday in perhaps the worst World Cup performance ever, I decided to celebrate their win with my three bottles of Sapporo: Light, Premium and Reserve. After all, what better way to say USA than with 2 American Lagers!

I threw on my American Flag Bandanna (or Dew-Rag or whatever you cool kids are calling it these days), cut out a few Sapporo Gold Stars and celebrated in fashion. Anyway, these all came in bottles, not the giant silver cans you might have expected. I'm not sure why they started bottling, but perhaps manufacturing that unique can isn't as beneficial as the normal cylindrical 12 ouncer. That is pure speculation though. Here are the results, should you find yourself in the beer aisle one morning before a beach trip.

Sapporo Premium Light Beer. Silver and dark blue label with a big gold star in the middle of it. Brewed in the Japanese city of La Crosse, Wisconsin. I guess since they call in Light, they need to put the nutritional information on the label too. Per 12 oz: 119 calories. 8.5g carb. 0.9g protein. 0.0g fat.

No head. Sweet, grainy cereal aroma. Heavy cereal grain and rice flavors to start and throughout. There is some light grassy, hoppy balance though this is borderline too sweet. Decent body especially for a light beer. Blech aftertaste that lingers and is the worst part of the beer.

Sapporo Premium Beer. Black and silver label with big gold star. Also brewed in Japanese sister city La Crosse. This beer is described as "irresistible to all" and great for "[sharing] rich moments with this masterpiece of the brewer's art." DAMN!

Faint aroma, grain, almost nothing to be found. Grainy flavors, not overly sweet. Floral and grassy hoppiness, a little spicy. Decent medium body. Not horrible but fairly bland, except for the unpleasant strange vegetal finish. Again, no-likey the aftertaste.

Sapporo Reserve Beer. Silver and gold themed label with the famous gold star. This one was imported from the Japanese stronghold of Guelph, Ontario. The label brags in all bold caps "ALL MALT BEER" and boasts "a full-bodied lager that is truly special."

Best aroma of the three by far. Buttered toast, light fruit. Richer flavors as well. Toasted malt along with some floral bitterness pretty much sums it up. Good balance. Clean and decent but pretty forgettable. Pick this one if you must.

Monday, June 16, 2014

Gravity Brewlab and Cigar City Brewing's Gin & Juice Collaboration


Gin & Juice began, actually, at a gin tasting. Diego Ganoza, head honcho at Gravity Brewlab, was visiting the Broken Shaker, and they happened to be hosting one of the owners of the Ransom Spirits company. He was showcasing his gin and a few other things. Diego not being a big gin fan, he automatically glossed over it, but the aroma pulled him right back... Since then, he had it in mind to age a beer in those barrels. He set up a barrel purchase and ended up discussing the possibility of a collaboration with Joe Redner of Cigar City Brewing. After talking about options, the two of them got the green light to do the brew at their brewpub in Tampa with Tim Ogden (the brewmaster there). 

Gin & Juice officially became an American Strong Ale brewed with a single malt, and hopped exclusively with Galaxy hops from Australia. They had to jump through some hoops given the fact that they were trying to barrel age a hoppy beer, which is normally a "no-no." But in the end, they aged the brew for several months, and then rested the beer on fresh mango and papaya. 

The beer has aromatic notes of juniper, oak, herbaceousness (read: herbal awesomeness) and barrel heat. The flavors are dark caramel, toffee, tropical fruit and juniper. This beer is to be slowly sipped, like a digestif, and when allowed to warm out of serving temperature, its aromas just expand and brighten all the more. 

Gin & Juice is now on tap at The Local in Coral Gables (while it lasts!). 

Gravity Brewlab is opening soon in the Wynwood arts district, near 21st and NW 1st Ave. They expect to have both classic and experimental styles on tap at the brewery, while also spreading the love and flavor to their restaurant and bar friends across Miami. 



Friday, June 13, 2014

Del's Shandy


Narragansett Del's Shandy? Heck yeah! Let's give this a shot. Del's comes in a green and yellow pounder can, and "It's Refreshingly Different." The back of the can tells the story of the origin of the name and the beverage. Del's is a frozen lemonade treat created by one of the family back in the 1800s. It's now sold in 30 stands across the US. This shandy is made from that lemonade and Narragansett Lager. 5% alcohol.

I poured it into my new "crooked" Gordon Biersch glass, which came with a cool beer I still need to try. I thought the size would accommodate all 16 ounces of this shandy. Wrong! Del's has a big head! Sharp lemony aroma, not quite lemon drop candy but there. And a sweet, lightly spicy backdrop on the nose.

Tasty! Lemon meets sweet grainy malt and some definite pilsner character. Toast, light fruitiness. The lemon is a little muted, though it reappears at the finish and lingers on the palate. Pretty simple, easily refreshing, and great after that afternoon run (in South Florida). On the sweet end of balanced, and I'd have preferred a little sharper lemony action and a more prickly carbonation presence. But I could easily drink a handful more, and I have big hands!

Wednesday, June 11, 2014

Road Warrior Imperial Rye India Pale Ale


Green Flash Brewing has been sending their beers here to South Florida for around a year now. Some sharp new labels on their bottles caught my eye a few days ago. Instead of just the "green flash" thumbnail, these new labels are rich in color and information. I grabbed a bottle of Road Warrior Imperial Rye India Pale Ale, one that I hadn't tried in the past.

Road Warrior is brewed in the name of the Green Flash sales team, their Road Warriors. I guess for me, I met Road Warrior Jeff Croy on ByTheGlassShow around the time they started distributing here. This particular bottle label has a deep blue theme and uses phrases like "Full Flavor Forward" and "Taste Enlightenment" on it, in addition to similar statements around the edge of the bottle cap. There is a little illustration of two guys on motorcycles above the hop and malt ingredient list. Best By (empty space). The inside of the cap says "Share with Friends" though that didn't happen. 9.0% alcohol. 80 IBU.

Hello pine! Hello spicy, peppery rye! What an aroma! There is also a spicy, piney, hoppy flavor start, but a strong dose of caramel sweetness follows right behind. Thick, chewy, sticky body with an excellent texture. The spiciness nips at the palate continuously. Orange citrus, more pine, aggressive hoppiness keep at it too. But then a softer sweet balance rescues that from being overdone.

Just right for a double rye IPA, lots going on but in spicy harmony. Very enjoyable all around if you are down for this type of beer. Get some!

Monday, June 9, 2014

CoolBrew


We usually talk about Cool Brews here (and sometimes horse racing, LOL), but New Orleans Coffee Company contacted me a few weeks ago about a cool product they brew. That would be their CoolBrew line of cold-brewed coffees, which is celebrating 25 years on the market! They are marking the occasion by reintroducing their original Chocolate Almond flavored coffee to the market for 2014. Naturally, of the four varieties they sent me, that's the one I opened first.

CoolBrew is brewed using cold water, which eliminates the acidity often found in coffees brewed with hot water. This process has been around for a long time, though it was never done on a large commercial scale before NOCC started in 1989. Today, CoolBrew is available in eight varieties and in two sizes. It is sold as a refrigerated concentrate with a unique bottle that includes a portioning cup which allows easy one-mug measurements. All you do is mix that portion with hot or cold water and add sweetener as usual.

The company is very much involved with its community, both donating products for events and working with other businesses as partners in new products. One that initially caught my eye was a beer collaboration they did with Tin Roof Brewing. CoolBrew French Roast and Mocha were used in their Parade Ground Coffee Porter--I think they are still trying to track down a can of that for me! Fingers crossed!

So I mentioned trying the Chocolate Almond. I tried it hot and iced. I must say that the flavors were really pronounced and the texture was exceptionally creamy. All that for 4 calories? Damn! And the convenience of the packaging was very welcome as well. They have two sized containers that offer either 16 or 32 servings each. Might be time to throw away the old drip machine! Anyway, check out this product. It's innovative and the flavor is terrific.




Sunday, June 8, 2014

Belmont Stakes Recap... Real Quick

I KNOW YOU LOVE MY HORSE RACING ANALYSIS! You probably saw me pick the Kentucky Derby winner two years ago and know you should pay attention, right? (Also, I used the word "wicked" in that post, like in the good way. You guys should probably follow me!)

Well, continuing tradition, I also correctly picked yesterday's Belmont winner Tonalist. I tried for the Exacta but California Chrome didn't perform. His fourth place finish, however, sparked some predicted controversy, though that didn't exactly unfold as expected. Grab a beer, sit back and enjoy!


Oops! Wrong video!

Here is the right video where California Chrome's owner Steve Coburn had a meltdown! Despite the fact that he says he doesn't believe that he'll ever see another triple crown winner, I'd put $50 on it that he does. Trust me! Grab another beer for this one! You're gonna need it!


Friday, June 6, 2014

Head Hunter India Pale Ale


After that Wayne Wambles brewery tour at Total Wine a few weeks ago, a few of my fellow classmates decided to take a tour of the beer aisles. One guy from the tour was raving about Fat Head's Head Hunter India Pale Ale, which caused an immediate sell-out. Fortunately, my regular Pembroke Pines store always has what I need. So I grabbed a bottle a few days later. Bottled 3/26/14.

The label depicts a "fat head head hunter," a modern looking guy that decided to keep some stereotypical features. The bone in his nose, ear and lip rings, and beaded and pig-tailed hair are just the beginning! This beer won some pretty impressive awards: 2012 Silver at the World Beer Cup, 2010 Silver at GABF and 2011 Bronze at GABF, all in the American-style IPA category.


The other side of the label tells the "Uncivilized & Aggressive" story. Basically it's a little story to prep you and finishes with "Chill Out Man, Have A Beer!" Brewed in Middleburg Heights, Ohio. 87 IBU. 7.5% alcohol.

I poured it into a "fat head" wine glass. Beautiful tropical pineapple and tangerine aroma. Wow, holy pungent hop flavors right off the bat, really green! There is much less of that tropical character in the flavor profile. Instead this is all about that dank bud. Grapefruit, orange, lots of citrus. Also spicy. And there is a pine crescendo right at the finish. There is just a tiny bit, just enough, of malty sweetness in the background to add a hint of balance, but make no mistake this is an aggressively bitter beer! Personally, I liked it. Check it out!




Wednesday, June 4, 2014

Anchor IPA


For all the years that Anchor Brewing has been around, you might be surprised that this Anchor IPA is a new beer for them. The label has an illustration of an elephant wearing an anchor-decorated carpet. There is a story around the neck label that explains the art. A 19th Century metaphor, "Seeing the Elephant" was used to describe those that went west seeking fortunes from the Gold Rush. Around that same time, IPAs were being imported to quench the thirst of these adventurers. There is also an elephant on the inside of the cap. 6.5% alcohol.

Bright, floral, tangerine aroma with hints of bread dough and pine. Very malty to start, bready and doughy, though that aspect was extremely short-lived. An abrupt wave of grass and flower petals turned the tides completely. Huge herbal tea flavors and a rather unpleasant streak of lemon and alcohol added to a beer that was already all over the place.

The finish left a strange aftertaste that didn't go away. Dry, astringent, weirdly bitter. I didn't like it or finish it.

Monday, June 2, 2014

The PuckOpener Hockey Puck Bottle Opener


I was recently contacted by Buffalo BottleCraft about The PuckOpener, a bottle opener made from a real hockey puck. They wanted to see if I'd like to check it out for myself. Of course I said "of course."

The top of the puck is decorated with two old-school, no-mask hockey players slugging it out in fight. Looks like Dave Schultz is about to connect with another chin! The underside of the puck has had some material removed to install a very solid bottle opening mechanism. Also inserted is a magnet so that the bottle caps don't fall after opening. It is a solid opener, one you know is going to last for a lot of bottles.

The PuckOpener fits nicely in your hand and can be used as a coaster after you open your bottle. Don't worry about it scratching your table either--the opening teeth and screws are sunk down below the hockey puck's rubber. I think it would be really cool to take one to a party for the host, and I'd for sure keep an eye on yours when your friends are over for the game. Nice idea! Check it out!




hgdhg